Makos edge out Taranaki

Date published: October 6 2013

Tasman guaranteed themselves a home semi-final in the ITM Cup Championship after beating Premiership side Taranaki 27-20.

Tasman booked themselves a home semi in the ITM Cup Championship after beating Premiership side Taranaki 27-20 on Sunday.

The success at Yarrow Stadium was the Makos' fourth successive victory in 2013, with their tries coming from Mitchell Scott and Joe Wheeler.

Meanwhile, Seta Tamanivalu and Andre Taylor crossed for the hosts, who were playing under the knowledge they had already secured their status in the top flight for another ITM Cup season.

Tasman led the game 21-6 at the break for an advantage that proved good enough to hold off a spirited second-half fightback from the 'Naki.

The scorers:

For Taranaki:
Tries: Tamanivalu, Taylor
Con: Taylor 2
Pen: Taylor 2

For Tasman:
Tries: Scott, Wheeler
Con: Guyton
Pen: Guyton 5

Taranaki: 15 Kurt Baker, 14 Andre Taylor, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Isaia Tuifua, 11 Jackson Ormond, 10 Beaudein Waaka, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Doug Tietjens, 6 Kane Barrett, 5 James Broadhurst, 4 Nemia Soqeta, 3 Sione Lea, 2 Rhys Marshall, 1 Carl Carmichael.
Replacements: 16 Timo Tutavaha, 17 Ryan Cocker, 18 Mitchell Crosswell, 19 Berny Hall, 20 Jamison Gibson-Park, 21 Daniel Brooks, 22 Frazier Climo.

Tasman: 15 Robbie Malneek, 14 Mitchell Scott, 13 Bryce Heem, 12 Andy Symons, 11 James Lowe, 10 Hayden Cripps, 9 Billy Guyton, 8 Vernon Fredericks, 7 Gary Redmond, 6 Huia Tevita Koloamatangi, 5 Joseph Wheeler, 4 George Stowers, 3 Siua Halanukonuka, 2 Quentin Macdonald, 1 Tim Perry.
Replacements: 16 Francis Smith, 17 Reuben Northover, 18 Liam Squire, 19 Shane Christie, 20 Mark Swanepoel, 21 Kieron Fonotia, 22 Tom Marshall.