Makos continue perfect start

Date published: August 24 2014


Tasman moved level on points with ITM Cup leaders Canterbury after they thumped Bay of Plenty 56-27 with a bonus-point in Tauranga.

Tasman climbed level on points with ITM Cup leaders Canterbury after they defeated Bay of Plenty 56-27 with a bonus-point in Tauranga on Sunday.

Scores from Quentin MacDonald, Tom Marshall, Shane Christie, Kieron Fonotia, James Lowe, Marty Banks, David Havili saw them take five.

Meanwhile, Banks kicked a further 21 points to finish what was an entertaining game at ASB Baypark Stadium on a personal 26-point haul.

Kane Hames, Joe Royal, Tino Nemani, Johan Bardoul were the Steamers' try-scorers but the Makos were simply too good on Sunday, as they followed up putting 35 points on Hawke's Bay last weekend with this impressive away performance.

Tasman's next fixture is a trip to Auckland on Sunday.

The scorers:

For Bay of Plenty:
Tries: Hames, Royal, Nemani, Bardoul
Con: Hollinshead 2
Pen: Hollinshead

For Tasman:
Tries: MacDonald, Marshall, Christie, Fonotia, Lowe, Banks, Havili
Con: Banks 6
Pen: Banks 3

Bay of Plenty: 15 Byron McGuigan, 14 Tino Nemani, 13 Siaosi Iongi, 12 Doug Edwards, 11 Leroy van Dam, 10 Dan Hollinshead, 9 Jono Kitto, 8 Joe Tupe, 7 Hamish Gosling, 6 Jesse Acton, 5 Tim Bond, 4 Culum Retallick, 3 Mike Kainga, 2 Joe Royal, 1 Kane Hames.
Replacements: 16 Nathan Harris, 17 Pingi Tala'apitaga, 18 Johan Bardoul, 19 Carl Axtens, 20 Te Aihe Toma, 21 Te Rangi Fraser, 22 Junior Tofa Va'a.

Tasman: 15 James Lowe, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Tom Marshall, 11 Mitchell Scott, 10 Marty Banks, 9 Billy Guyton, 8 Liam Squire, 7 Shane Christie (c), 6 Nemani Nagusa, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Alex Ainley, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Quentin MacDonald, 1 Tim Perry.
Replacements: 16 Jesse MacDonald, 17 Siosuia Halanukonuka, 18 Tevita Cavubati, 19 Vernon Fredericks, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 David Havili, 22 Ben Tyler.

Referee: Ben O'Keeffe