Lyon grind past Montpellier

Date published: March 5 2017

Lyon returned to the victory trail when they claimed a hard-fough 16-3 win over Montpellier at the Matmut Stadium on Sunday.

In a tightly contested encounter, the home side had to dig deep to secure the win but they eventually took control of proceedings and outscored Montpellier by one try to none.

The opening half was a slugfest and both sides battled to gain the ascendancy although Lyon held a slender 6-0 lead at half-time courtesy of two penalties from the boot of Mike Harris.

Montpellier were dealt a blow early in the second half when Bismarck du Plessis was sent to the sin bin for a cynical foul at a ruck inside his 22.

Lyon made full use of their numerical advantage and scored 10 unanswered points during the Springbok hooker’s 10 minute spell on the sidelines.

Harris succeeded with the resulting penalty and five minutes later Hemani Paea crossed for the only five-pointer after Lyon were camped in Montpellier’s 22 for a lengthy period.

Montpellier eventually pened their account via a Willie du Plessis penalty on the hour-mark but they could not add to their points tally as the home side kept them at bay with a solid defensive effort.

The scorers:

For Lyon:
Con: Harris
Pens: Harris 3

For Montpellier:
W du Plessis
Yellow Card: B du Plessis

Lyon: 15 Delon Armitage, 14 Toby Arnold, 13 Hosea Gear, 12 Hemani Paea, 11 Napolioni Nalaga, 10 Mike Harris, 9 Baptiste Couilloud, 8 Carl Fearns, 7 Facundo Isa, 6 Julien Puricelli, 5 Thibault Privat, 4 Felix Lambey, 3 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 2 Mickael Ivaldi, 1 Albertus Buckle
Replacements: 16 Ti’I Paulo, 17 Alexandre Menini, 18 Taiasina Tuifua, 19 Josh Bekhuis, 20 Nicolas Durand, 21 Deon Fourie, 22 Lionel Beauxis, 23 David Attoub

Montpellier: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Joffrey Michel, 13 Joseph Tomane, 12 Alexandre Dumoulin, 11 Benjamin Fall, 10 Willie du Plessis, 9 Nic White,  8 Kelian Galletier, 7 Antoine Battut, 6 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 5 Paul Willemse, 4 Jacques Du Plessis, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck Du Plessis, 1 Mikheil
Replacements: 16 Charles Geli, 17 Gregory Fichten, 18 Robins Tchale-Watchou, 19 Pierre Spies, 20 Benoit Paillaugue, 21 Yvan Reilhac, 22 Timoci Nagusa, 23 Antoine Guillamon

Referee: Laurent Cardona
Assistant Referees: Flavien Hourquet, Jean-Claude Labarbe
TMO: Cédric Marchat