LV=Cup wrap: Sarries edge Bath

Date published: November 8 2013

Saracens opened their LV=Cup campaign with a narrow win over Bath while Leicester comfortably beat the Ospreys.

Saracens opened their LV=Cup campaign with a narrow win over Bath while Leicester comfortably beat the Ospreys.

Scarlets won the an all-Welsh derby with the Dragons, Worcester claimed a morale-boosting victory at home to Cardiff while Bath won away to Sale.


London Wasps 21-24 Saracens
Cardiff Blues 16-21 Worcester Warriors
Scarlets 21-13 Dragons
Worcester 21-16 Cardiff Blues
Leicester Tigers 39 – 16 Ospreys
Sale Sharks 20-27 Bath

London Wasps 21-24 Saracens

Saracens began their campaign with a nail-biting bonus-point victory but were made to resist a thrilling comeback from Wasps.

The first 25 minutes was an even contest before Saracens hit their opponents with 24 unanswered points to lead 24-7 with only 17 minutes remaining.

Wasps fought back to striking distance and were it not for a last-gasp tackle on Tom Howe in the final play of the match, the hosts would have completed a remarkable turnaround.

The scorers:

For Wasps:
Tries: Everard, Cochrane, Jacobs
Cons: Carlisle 3

For Saracens:
Tries: Ransom, Tompkins, Barrington, Wilson
Cons: Spencer 2
Yellow card: Wilson

Wasps: 15 Tommy Bell, 14 Jonah Homes, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Charlie Hayter, 11 Josh Bassett, 10 Joe Carlisle, 9 Charlie Davies, 8 Guy Thompson, 7 Matt Everard, 6 James Haskell (c), 5 James Cannon, 4 Tom Palmer, 3 Will Taylor, 2 Tom Lindsay, 1 Ricky Reeves.
Replacements: 16 Neil Cochrane, 17 Alex Lunderg, 18 Phil Swainston, 19 Esteban Lozada, 20 Sam Jones, 21 Jack Moates, 22 Ben Jacobs, 23 Tom Howe.

Saracens: 15 Ben Ransom, 14 Michael Tagicakibau, 13 Tim Streather, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Jack Wilson, 10 Nils Mordt (c), 9 Ben Spencer, 8 Jackson Wray, 7 Will Fraser, 6 Justin Melck, 5 Mouritz Botha, 4 George Kruis, 3 Petrus Du Plessis, 2 Jared Saunders, 1 Richard Barrington.
Replacements: 16 Max Crumpton, 17 Nick Auterac, 18 Biyi Alo, 19 Eoin Sheriff, 20 Matt Hankin, 21 Neil de Kock, 22 Charlie Hodgson, 23 James Short.

Referee: Neil Hennessy (Wales)

Scarlets 21-13 Dragons

Tries from skipper Rob McCusker and rookie wing Chris Knightin the final quarter proved the telling blows that handed Scarlets victory on home soil.

Scarlets led 6-0 at the break before Dragons flanker Scott Matthews was yellow carded for killing ball inside his 22 and the home side used the extra man advantage to full effect, scoring two tries in the space of five minutes.

Dragons fly-half Kris Burton did get a try back but it was too late for the visitors.

The scorers:

For Scarlets:
Tries: Knight, McCusker
Con: Lewis
Pens: A. Thomas 2, Lewis
Yellow cards: Maule

For Dragons:
Try: Burton
Con: Burton
Pens: Burton, GR Jones
Yellow card: Matthews

Scarlets: 15 Gareth Owen, 14 Jordan Williams, 13 Gareth Maule, 12 Adam Warren, 11 Chris Knight, 10 Aled Thomas, 9 Aled Davies, 8 Rob McCusker (capt), 7 Dan Thomas, 6 Craig Price, 5 Richard Kelly, 4 Johan Synman, 3 Rhodri Jones, 2 Kirby Myhill, 1 Shaun Hopkins.
Replacements: 16 Darran Harris, 17 Gareth Thomas, 18 Ben Leung, 19 Carwyn Jones, 20 James Davies, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Josh Lewis, 23 Kristian Phillips.

Dragons: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Will Harries, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Ashley Smith, 11 Matthew Pewtner, 10 Kris Burton, 9 Wayne Evans, 8 Ieuan Jones, 7 Scott Matthews, 6 Jevon Groves, 5 Adam Jones (c), 4 Joe Davies, 3 Francisco Chaparro, 2 Elliot Dee, 1 Aaron Coundley.
Replacements: 16 Hugh Gustafson, 17 Nathan Williams, 18 Nathan Buck, 19 Rob Sidoli, 20 Netani Talei, 21 Luc Jones, 22 Rhys Jones, 23 Ashton Hewitt.

Referee: Matthew Carley (England)

Worcester Warriors 21-16 Cardiff Blues

Worcester Warriors recorded a 21-16 victory over the Cardiff Blues outscoring the visiting side three tries to one.

Warriors banked their first victory of the season thanks to second-half rearguard action.
The Blues were dealt a heavy blow just before the break when pivot Gareth Davies limped-off. Davies looked in good form with the boot and was replaced by debutant Simon Humberstone.
Worcester were reduced to 14 men just before the team's turned for the break when lock Chris Jones binned for killing the ball. The Blues managed to close the gap though a Thomas Young try in the second stanza, but the Worcester defence remained firm right up to the final whistle.

The scorers:

Cardiff Blues:
Try: Young
Con: Humberstone
Pens: Davies, Humberstone

Worcester Warriors:
Tries: O'Donnel, Stephenson, Stelling
Cons: Mieres
Yellow card: C. Jones

Cardiff Blues: 15 Dan Fish, 14 Tom Williams, 13 Richard Smith, 12 Dafydd Hewitt, 11 Chris Czekaj, 10 Gareth Davies, 9 Lewis Jones, 8 Andries Pretorius (c), 7 Thomas Young, 6 Macauley Cook, 5 James Down, 4 Miles Normandale, 3 Benoit Bourrust, 2 Kristian Dacey, 1 Tom Davies.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Williams, 17 Sam Hobbs, 18 Taufa'ao Filise, 19 Luke Hamilton, 20 Rory Watts-Jones, 21 Alex Walker, 22 Simon Humberstone, 23 Gavin Evans.

Worcester: 15 Ben Howard, 14 Josh Drauniniu, 13 Jon Clarke, 12 Max Stelling, 11 James Stephenson, 10 Ignacio Mieres, 9 Paul Hodgson (c), 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Jake Abbott, 6 Sam Betty, 5 Chris Jones, 4 Mike Williams, 3 Rob O'Donnell, 2 Ed Shervington, 1 Jeremy Becasseau.
Replacements: 16 Nick Seymour, 17 George Porter, 18 Ofa Fainga'anuku, 19 Dean Schofield, 20 Jonathan Thomas, 21 George de Cothi, 22 Paul Warwick, 23 Andy Symons.

Venue: Arms Park
Referee: Gwyn Morris (Wales)

Leicester Tigers 39-16 Ospreys

Tigers got their season back on track with their first in six matches in all competitions.

21-year-old Welsh fly-half Owen Williams scored 19 points, kicking five penalties and two conversions to add to Leicester's four tries.

Leicester led from start to finish, building on their 14-9 lead at the break with three second-half tries.

The scorers:

For: Leicester Tigers
Tries: Waldrom, Harrison, Wells
Con: Williams
Pens: Williams (5)

For: Ospreys
Try: Williams
Con: Davies
Pens: Davies (3)
Yellow cards: Lloyd Peers

The teams:

Leicester Tigers: 15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Blaine Scully, 13 George Catchpole, 12 Javiah Pohe, 11 Miles Benjamin, 10 Owen Williams, 9 Sam Harrison, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Jamie Gibson, 6 Michael Noone, 5 Sebastian de Chaves, 4 Joe Cain, 3 Fraser Balmain, 2 Harry Thacker, 1 Boris Stankovich (c).
Replacements: 16 George Chuter, 17 Tom Bristow, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Tom Price, 20 Harry Wells, 21 David Mélé, 22 Perry Humphreys, 23