LV=Cup wrap: Bath and Saints set pace

Date published: January 25 2014

Harlequins outscored Leicester three tries to nil to easily win Saturday's Anglo-Welsh Cup clash at the Stoop while Wasps pipped Exiles.

Harlequins outscored Leicester three tries to nil to easily win Saturday's Anglo-Welsh Cup clash at the Stoop while Wasps pipped Exiles.

Sale Sharks outscored Worcester Warriors two tries to nil to win 20-6 at Salford City Stadium while Northampton won away to the Dragons and Bath beat Cardiff Blues to book their place in the semi-finals.

Sale Sharks 20-6 Worcester Warriors
Dragons 16-34 Northampton Saints
Harlequins 20-6 Leicester Tigers
Bath 24-13 Cardiff Blues
Exeter Chiefs 36-22 Ospreys
London Wasps 22-15 London Irish

Sale Sharks 20-6 Worcester Warriors
Salford City Stadium, Salford

It wasn't the prettiest of victories, but Sale are still in the hunt for a place in the semi finals.

Sale led 3-0 at the end of a forgettable first half but captain Mark Easter and youngster Charlie Ingall scored tries after the break which secured a battling victory.

The scorers:

For Sale Sharks:
Tries: Easter, Ingall
Cons: Ford 2
Pens: Ford 2

For Worcester Warriors:
Pens: Davies 2

Sale: 15 Mike Haley, 14 Phil MacKenzie, 13 Andy Forsyth, 12 Mark Jennings, 11 Charlie Ingall, 10 Joe Ford, 9 Will Cliff, 8 Viliami Fihaki, 7 Andy Hughes, 6 Mark Easter (capt), 5 Tom Holmes, 4 Kirill Kulemin, 3 Tony Buckley, 2 Dan Baines, 1 Aston Croall.
Replacements: 16 Tommy Taylor, 17 Ross Harrison, 18 Eifion Lewis Roberts, 19 Andrei Ostrikov, 20 James Gaskell, 21 James Mitchell, 22 Danny Cipriani, 23 Tom Brady.

Worcester: 15 Max Stelling, 14 Josh Watkins, 13 Alex Grove, 12 Ravai Fatiaki, 11 Dean Hammond, 10 Elliott Davies, 9 Paul Hodgson, 8 Semisi Taulava, 7 Cam Goodhue, 6 Chris Jones, 5 Christian Scotland-Williamson, 4 Dean Schofield (c), 3 Rob O'Donnell, 2 Ed Shervington, 1 George Porter.
Replacements: 16 Nick Seymour, 17 Jack Cosgrove, 18 John Andress, 19 Richard de Carpentier, 20 Andrew Boyce, 21 George de Cothi, 22 Josh Matavesi, 23 James Stephenson.

Referee: Steve Lee (England)

Dragons 16-34 Northampton Saints
Rodney Parade, Newport

Northampton are almost certain of qualifying for the knockout stages thanks a hard-fought victory in horrific conditions which included a 20-minute interruption due to a hail storm.

Saints opened the scoring with a penalty try at scrum time. Faatoina Autagavaia crossed seven minutes later but Dragons led 16-15 at half time thanks to the boot of Jason Tovey and a Luc Jones try just before the break.

Saints took the game by the scruff of the neck after the break with tries from Mike Haywood, Gareth Denman and GJ van Velze earning a bonus-point victory.

Try: L. Jones
Cons: Tovey
Pens: Tovey 3

Tries: Penalty try, Autagavaia, Haywood, Denman, van Velze
Cons: Dickson 3
Pens: Dickson
Yellow card: Harrison

Dragons: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Matthew Pewtner, 13 Pat Leach, 12 Ashley Smith, 11 Will Harries, 10 Jason Tovey, 9 Luc Jones, 8 Netani Talei, 7 James Benjamin, 6 Lewis Evans (c), 5 Adam Jones, 4 Cory Hill, 3 Nathan Buck, 2 Elliot Dee, 1 Phil Price.
Replacements: 16 T. Rhys Thomas, 17 Owen Evans, 18 Joe Mills, 19 Matthew Screech, 20 Jevon Groves, 21 Richie Rees, 22 Kris Burton, 23 Ross Wardle.

Northampton: 15 James Wilson, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 Tom Stephenson, 12 Dom Waldouck, 11 Fa'atoina Autagavaia, 10 Glenn Dickson, 9 Kahn Fotuali'i, 8 GJ van Velze, 7 Phil Dowson (capt), 6 Teimana Harrison, 5 Christian Day, 4 Rob Verbakel, 3 Gareth Denman, 2 Mike Haywood, 1 Ethan Waller.
Replacements: 16 Ross McMillan, 17 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi, 18 Adam Parkins 19 Ben Nutley 20 Matt Williams, 21 Alex Day, 22 Sam Olver 23 George Pisi.

Referee: Andrew Small (England)

Harlequins 20-6 Leicester Tigers
Twickenham Stoop, London

Referee Gwyn Morris called full-time nine minutes from the end as defending champions Quins secured their first win in this season's competition.

Play was called off when a torrential hailstorm and high winds hit the Stoop. Former England winger Paul Sackey, flanker Maurie Fa'asavalu scored tries for Quins who led 13-6 at half time – with fly-half Ben Botica kicking a penalty.

Number eight Tom Guest touched down after intercepting a Ryan Lamb pass in the second half to secure victory.

Leicester were well beaten and only replied with two penalties from fly-half Lamb in the first half.

The scorers:

For Harlequins:
Tries: Sackey, Fa'asavalu, Guest
Cons: Botica
Pens: Botica

For Leicester:
Pens: Lamb 2

Harlequins: 15 Ollie Lindsay-Hague, 14 Paul Sackey, 13 Harry Sloan, 12 Jordan Turner-Hall, 11 Tom Williams, 10 Ben Botica, 9 Karl Dickson (capt), 8 Tom Guest, 7 Maurie Fa'asavalu, 6 Joe Trayfoot, 5 Nick Kennedy, 4 George Merrick, 3 Paul Doran Jones, 2 Joe Gray, 1 Mark Lambert.
Replacements: 16 Nic Mayhew, 17 Darryl Marfo, 18 Kyle Sinckler, 19 Kieran Treadwell, 20 James Chisholm, 21 Sam Stuart, 22 Louis Grimoldby, 23 Ugo Monye.

Leicester: 15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Blaine Scully, 13 Matt Smith, 12 Terrence Hepetema, 11 Adam Thompstone, 10 Ryan Lamb, 9 David Mele (c), 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Pablo Matera, 6 Michael Noone, 5 Sebastian De Chaves, 4 Steve Mafi, 3 Fraser Balmain, 2 Rob Hawkins, 1 Tom Bristow.
Replacements: 16 George Chuter, 17 Boris Stankovich, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Harry Wells, 20 Will Owen, 21 Scott Steele, 22 Owen Williams, 23 Henry Purdy.

Referee: Gwyn Morris (Wales)

Bath 24-13 Cardiff Blues
The Rec, Bath

Bath booked their place in the semi-finals with a game to spare thanks to a bonus-point win.

The five points, along with Sale's defeat of Worcester, means Bath have an unassailable lead at the top of Pool 3.

In heavy wind and rain, the hosts scored twice in each half with their punishing driving maul laying the platform for three of their tries.

The Blue were well beaten but replied with a well-worked consolation try for full-back Dan Fish in the dying minutes.

The scorers:

For Bath:
Tries: Faosiliva, Young, Henson, Mercer
Cons: Heathcote 2
Yellow card: Devoto

For Cardiff:
Try: Fish
Con: Humberstone
Pens: Humberstone 2

Bath: 15 Horacio Agulla, 14 Richard Lane, 13 Matt Banahan, 12 Ollie Devoto, 11 Tom Biggs, 10 Tom Heathcote, 9 Micky Young, 8 Leroy Houston, 7 Alafoti Fa'osiliva, 6 Matt Garvey, 5 Ryan Caldwell, 4 Dominic Day (c), 3 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 2 Ross Batty, 1 Anthony Perenise
Replacements: 16 Eusebio Guinazu, 17 Charlie Beech, 18 Kane Palma-Newport, 19 David Sisi, 20 Guy Mercer, 21 Mat Gilbert, 22 Martin Roberts, 23 Gavin Henson

Cardiff Blues: 15 Dan Fish, 14