LV= Cup semi-finals confirmed

Date published: February 8 2015

The final four sides have been confirmed for this year’s LV= Cup competition, with defending champions Exeter Chiefs involved.

The 2014 winners will travel to Welford Road to take on Leicester Tigers, while in the other contest Saracens will host Northampton Saints.

LV= Cup semi-finals 2014/2015
14/15 March, venues TBC

Leicester Tigers v Exeter Chiefs
Saracens v Northampton Saints

Newport Gwent Dragons 17-13 London Welsh
Rodney Parade

London Welsh, still without a win this season, let a 13-3 half-time advantage against Newport Gwent Dragons slip away at Rodney Parade.

A try from winger Nick Scott along with the boot of Tristan Roberts put Welsh in a good position to end their desperate run.

The Dragons countered however with tries from Richie Rees and Tom Prydie, with the full-back converting both scores to give the home side victory.

The scorers:

For Dragons:
Tries: Rees, Prydie
Cons: Prydie 2
Pen: Prydie
Yellow Card: Gough

For Welsh:
Try: Scott
Con: Roberts
Pens: Roberts 2
Yellow Cards: Reynolds, Roberts

Dragons: 15 Tom Prydie, 14 Matthew Pewtner, 13 Pat Leach, 12 Ashley Smith, 11 Ashton Hewitt, 10 Angus O’Brien, 9 Luc Jones, 8 Nick Crosswell, 7 James Benjamin, 6 Lewis Evans, 5 Rynard Landman (c), 4 Andrew Coombs, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Thomas Rhys Thomas, 1 Phil Price.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Buckley, 17 Boris Stankovich, 18 Dan Way, 19 Ian Gough, 20 Scott Matthews, 21 Richie Rees, 22 Jason Tovey, 23 Jack Dixon.

London Welsh: 15 Will Robinson, 14 Elliot Kear, 13 Nic Reynolds, 12 Seb Jewell (c), 11 Nick Scott, 10 Tristan Roberts, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Opeti Fonua, 7 Richard Thorpe, 6 Peter Browne, 5 James Down, 4 Ben West, 3 Taione Vea, 2 Nathan Morris, 1 Nathan Trevett.
Replacements: 16 Rob Elloway, 17 Eddie Aholelei, 18 Jack Gilding, 19 Matt Corker, 20 Jesse Liston, 21 Alex Davies, 22 Olly Barkley, 23 James Tincknell.

Saracens 35-18 Exeter Chiefs
Allianz Park

Saracens wrapped up their home semi-final spot by running in five tries past Exeter Chiefs at home on Sunday.

The two teams could meet again in the final depending on the outcome of the next round, but the hosts were well on top in this encounter.

Saracens flanker Nick de Jager scored two tries either side of half-time, with scrum-half Ben Spencer converting all five efforts.

Tim Streather opened the scoring and after De Jager found his way to the line Saracens were well ahead at 14-0. Ten quick points from Exeter including Sam Skinner’s try brought the visitors back into it and the Chiefs took the lead just after half-time thanks to Tom James’ five-pointer and a Ceri Sweeney penalty.

The final half hour was all Saracens though, with Romanian back Cătălin Fercu crossing and De Jager adding his second before Matt Hankin completed the scoring.

The scorers:

For Saracens:
Tries: Streather, De Jager 2, Fercu, Hankin
Cons: Spencer 5

For Exeter:
Tries: Skinner, James
Con: Sweeney
Pens: Sweeney 2
Yellow Card: White

Saracens: 15 Ben Ransom, 14 Mike Ellery, 13 Tim Streather, 12 Max Wilkins, 11 Cătălin Fercu, 10 Nils Mordt, 9 Ben Spencer, 8 Jackson Wray, 7 Matt Hankin, 6 Nick De Jager, 5 Hayden Smith, 4 Maro Itoje (c), 3 Biyi Alo, 2 Jared Saunders, 1 Rhys Gill.
Replacements: 16 Brett Sharman, 17 Richard Barrington, 18 Ben Featherstone, 19 Kennett Sharples, 20 Hayden Thompson-Stringer, 21 Tom Whiteley, 22 Thretton Palamo, 23 Alex Goode.

Exeter: 15 Byron McGuigan, 14 Fetu’u Vainikolo, 13 Max Bodilly, 12 Adam Hughes, 11 Tom James, 10 Ceri Sweeney (c), 9 Dave Lewis, 8 Sam Skinner, 7 Sam Simmonds, 6 Tom Johnson, 5 Will Carrick-Smith, 4 Jerry Sexton, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Elvis Taione, 1 Brett Sturgess.
Replacements: 16 Greg Bateman, 17 Carl Rimmer, 18 Alex Brown, 19 Ed Holmes, 20 Ben White, 21 Will Chudley, 22 Laurence May, 23 Jack Arnott.