LV= Cup: Friday’s teams

Date published: November 14 2014

Catch up with all the team news for Friday’s LV= Cup matches when the Blues host the Scarlets and the Ospreys welcome the Dragons.

Catch up with all the team news for Friday’s LV= Cup matches when the Blues host the Scarlets and the Ospreys welcome the Dragons.

Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets

Wales Sevens international Aled Summerhill will make his first start for Cardiff Blues in their LV= Cup clash with the Scarlets.

He is one of four changes to the side which beat Newcastle last time out.

Owen Jenkins comes into the side on the wing, while Miles Normandale will start at lock.

There is also a starting spot for Taufa’ao Filise at tighthead prop.

The Scarlets meanwhile, have made wholesale changes, with ten new faces in all.

Josh Adams and Ben Leung will make their debuts for the region in a team with an average age of 21.

The teams:

Cardiff Blues: 15 Dan Fish, 14 Tom Williams, 13 Aled Summerhill, 12 Garyn Smith, 11 Owen Jenkins, 10 Simon Humberstone, 9 Tavis Knoyle, 8 Rory Watts-Jones, 7 Ellis Jenkins (c), 6 Jevon Groves, 5 Chris Dicomidis, 4 Miles Normandale, 3 Taufa’ao Filise, 2 Rhys Williams, 1 Thomas Davies
Replacements: 16 Liam Belcher, 17 Brad Thyer, 18 Scott Andrews, 19 Lou Reed, 20 Ben Roach, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Will Thomas, 23 Harry Davies

Scarlets: 15 Steffan Evans, 14 Josh Adams, 13 Steffan Hughes, 12 Iolo Evans, 11 Jordan Williams, 10 Josh Lewis, 9 Rhodri Davies, 8 Craig Price, 7 Sion Bennett, 6 Rob McCusker (c), 5 Phil Day, 4 Shaun Jones, 3 Ben Leung, 2 Ryan Elias, 1 Wyn Jones
Replacements: 16 Darran Harris, 17 Gethin Robinson, 18 Javan Sebastian, 19 Roy Osborn, 20 Tom Phillips, 21 Kieran Hardy, 22 Daniel Jones, 23 Aaron Warren

Kick-off: 19:30 GMT
Venue: BT Cardiff Arms Park
Referee: Craig Evans (Wales)
Assistant referees: Sean Brickell (Wales), Jason Langdon (Wales)

Ospreys vs Dragons

Martin Roberts will captain the Ospreys when they take on the Dragons at the Liberty Stadium as they try to recover from last week’s defeat to Saracens.

Steve Tandy’s side went down 18-9 and have made seven changes as a result. Hanno Dirksen will start in the centres while there are a number of changes in the pack including a start for Rynier Bernardo in the second row.

The Dragons have made five changes to the team that went down at Harlequins, with Rynard Landman coming in to captain the side in the second row.

Lewis Evans is another of the new faces, making his 150th appearance for the club from number eight.

The teams:

Ospreys: 15 Richard Fussell, 14 Dafydd Howells, 13 Hanno Dirksen, 12 Ashley Beck, 11 Aisea Natoga, 10 Sam Davies, 9 Martin Roberts (c), 8 Ieuan Jones, 7 Rob Dudley-Jones, 6 Ifereimi Boladau, 5 Rynier Bernardo, 4 Rory Thornton, 3 Daniel Suter, 2 Sam Parry, 1 Marc Thomas
Replacements: 16 Matthew Dwyer, 17 Gareth Thomas, 18 Cai Griffiths, 19 Adam Beard, 20 Tommy Spinks, 21 Tom Habberfield, 22 Dan Evans, 23 Ashley Evans

Dragons: 15 Geraint Rhys Jones, 14 Tyler Morgan, 13 Ross Wardle, 12 Ashley Smith, 11 Ashton Hewitt, 10 Dorian Jones, 9 Jonathan Evans, 8 Lewis Evans, 7 James Benjamin, 6 James Thomas, 5 Rynard Landman (c), 4 Cory Hill, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Elliot Dee, 1 Boris Stankovich
Replacements: 16 Hugh Gustafson, 17 Phil Price, 18 David Young, 19 Joe Davies, 20 Ollie Griffiths, 21 Luc Jones, 22 Jason Tovey, 23 Matthew Pewtner

Kick-off: 19:35 GMT
Venue: Liberty Stadium
Referee: Rhys Thomas (Wales)
Assistant referees: Gwyn Morris (Wales), Jon Hardy (Wales)