London Sevens: Day One Wrap

Date published: May 16 2015

Scotland defeated England in the day's final game but the hosts are still through to the quarter-finals, where they will face New Zealand.

With Ben Ryan's side winning all three of their pool matches, achieving a 100 percent record from their 27 pool matches this season, South Africa's defeat to the USA in front of a record crowd at Twickenham means the top two sides will battle it out on day two in the first quarter-final.

A win for Fiji will guarantee them a second World Series title in 16 years and first since 2006. 

"It will give us an outcome," said head coach Ryan.

"I'm pleased we've done the whole season unbeaten in the pool stages, that's a big achievement. We win tomorrow morning, we win the world title – simple as that. It's good to be in control of our own destiny. We are in a Cup final tomorrow, anything after that is irrelevant really." 

Third-placed New Zealand, Scotland and USA also maintained 100 percent records alongside Fiji to set up matches with hosts England, Australia and Canada respectively on day two. 

England's safe passage through to the last eight ensured they will finish fourth in the series and guaranteed Team GB's qualification to the Olympic Games next year alongside hosts Brazil, South Africa, Fiji and New Zealand. 

Tom Mitchell, England captain, said: "It's a fantastic achievement, and I hope the guys were able to soak it up a bit. To get over the line is something very special. Representing Team GB is a dream for any athlete." 

Elsewhere Japan's failure to reach the Cup quarter finals means they will be relegated and replaced by Russia on the 2015/16 series. 

Cup quarter-finals

Fiji v South Africa

Scotland v Australia

USA v Canada

New Zealand v England

Current tournament standings:

1 Fiji – 147
2 South Africa – 142
3 New Zealand – 139
4 England – 117
5 Australia – 101

Pool A: Fiji, Canada, Argentina, Samoa
Canada 17-14 Samoa
Fiji 24-19 Argentina
Canada 26-5 Argentina
Fiji 24-19 Samoa
Argentina 10-19 Samoa
Fiji 31-14 Canada

Pool B: New Zealand, Australia, Wales, Japan
Australia 41-0 Japan
New Zealand 38-0 Wales
Australia 19-14 Wales
New Zealand 26-14 Japan
Wales 24-21 Japan
New Zealand 24-10 Australia

Pool C: England, Scotland, Kenya, Brazil
Scotland 19-14 Brazil
England 40-0 Kenya
Scotland 26-12 Kenya
England 56-7 Brazil
Kenya 19-14 Brazil
England 19-22 Scotland 

Pool D: USA, South Africa, France, Portugal
South Africa 19-0 Portugal
United States 24-19 France
South Africa 28-7 France
United States 28-12 Portugal
France 26-19 Portugal
United States 21-12 South Africa