Lions ring the changes

Date published: May 7 2015

1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_Ross_Cronje_Lions_v_Stormers_Super_Rugby_2015

Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has rung the changes to his starting line-up for Saturday's clash with the Highlanders in Johannesburg.

Ackermann has made two tweaks to the forwards and both come in the front-row. Schalk van der Merwe will start at loosehead and Robbie Coetzee, having made a full recovery this week, has been included at hooker.

In the backline, Ross Cronje will start at scrum-half and links up with Marnitz Boshoff, who shifts to fly-half for this game. They replace Faf de Klerk and Elton Jantjies respectively.

Courtnall Skosan returns at left wing and Andries Coetzee shifts to full-back. Alwyn Hollenbach has also earned a starting position at inside centre with Howard Mnisi dropping down to the bench.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Harold Vorster, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 Robert Kruger, 20 Ruaan Lerm, 21 Faf de Klerk, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Howard Mnisi.

Date: Saturday, May 9
Venue: Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 13:00 local (13:00 GMT, 01:00 NZST, 23:00 AEST)
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), Rodney Bonaparte (South Africa)
TMO: Johan Greeff (South Africa)

COMMENTS