Lions name XV for Tokyo opener

Date published: February 25 2016

The Lions have named their side to take on the Sunwolves on Saturday, and the team list boasts no surprises as head coach Johan Ackermann went with experience and consistency.

There are no new Super Rugby caps in the starting XV that will be captained by Warren Whiteley.

The most experienced Super Rugby players are Elton Jantjies at 54 and Whiteley with 52 caps followed by Lionel Mapoe (46) and Jaco Kriel (38).

On the bench newcomers to the competition include young front ranker Dylan Smith, loose forward Ruan Ackermann and back Rohan Janse van Rensburg, who all had a taste of Currie Cup in 2015.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Courtnal Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Ruan Dreyer.
Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Robert Kruger, 20 Ruan Ackermann, 21 Jaco van der Walt, 22 Harold Vorster, 23 Rohan Janse van Rensburg

Date: Saterday, February 27
Venue: Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo
Kick-off: 06:15 (04:15 GMT)
Referee: Ben O'Keeffe (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Shuhei Kubo (Japan), Aki Aso (Japan)
TMO: Takeshi Hareda (Japan)