Lions name team to face WP

Date published: September 29 2015

Currie Cup leaders the Golden Lions have named their team to face Western Province in Friday's showdown in Jo'burg.

Dylan Smith will start in the front row, replacing Jacques van Rooyen while Julian Redelinghuys also gets a start as part of the rotational system in the side.

In the backline, Anthony Volmink replaces injured Ruan Combrink who will go under the knife on Wednesday (knee) while Rohan Janse van Rensburg starts at centre. 

Stokkies Hanekom moves to the bench and Sampie Mostert comes in to fill up the reserves at 22.

Golden Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Courtnall Skosan, 13 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Ross Cronje , 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Stephan de Witt, 6 Jaco Kriel (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Lourens Erasmus, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Dylan Smith.
Replacement: 16 Mark Pretorius, 17 Ruan Dreyer, 18 Fabian Booysen, 19 Kwagga Smith, 20 Jaco van der Walt, 21 Stokkies Hanekom, 22 Sampie Mastriet.

Date: Friday, October 2
Venue: Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 18.00 local (16.00 GMT)
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant referees: Jason Jaftha, Lourens van der Merwe
Television match official: Johan Greeff