Lions continue perfect start to season

Date published: August 28 2015

The Golden Lions claimed their fourth bonus-point win in as many games with a 41-11 victory over the Pumas in Friday's Currie Cup clash in Nelspruit.

Using their dominant scrum as a platform, the Lions outscored their hosts four tries to one in an impressive display.

The Lions led 16-3 at the interval but really turned on the gas in the second-half as they punished the Pumas' indiscipline.

Lions flank Kwagga Smith scored two tries in a top-class peformance while the Lions tight forwards deserve massive praise for completely demolishing the Pumas at the set-piece.

Fly-half Marnitz Boshoff also had a good game, scoring 21 points including a well-taken drop-goal just before the break.

The Pumas were still in the contest around the 50-minute mark, when livewire scrum-half Faf de Klerk scored the hosts' only try against his Super Rugby team-mates to cut the deficit at 22-11.

But the rampant Lions pressed home their advantage in the final quarter, as they camped in the Pumas 22, scoring two late tries to ensure they went home with a full-house of points.

It started badly for the Pumas as Stefan Watermeyer was sent to the sin-bin for an intentional knock-down that prevented a certain try.

A penalty try was the only option for referee Lesego Legoete, who would continue to penalise the hosts at the breakdown, allowing Boshoff to keep the scoreboard ticking.

Boshoff's fourth penalty had the Lions 22-6 up before De Klerk's score gave the Pumas a hint of hope, but Smith scored off a driving maul that started 25 metres out before Jacques van Rooyen crashed over followed a long period of pressure to settle any doubt over the final result.

With the Pumas down to 13 men, Smith went over after another series of powerful scrums to seal the bonus point.

The scorers:

For Pumas:
Try: De Klerk
Pens: Roos 2
Yellow cards: Watermeyer, Shoeman, Cassiem Mona

For Golden Lions:
Tries: Penalty try, Smith 2, Van Rooyen
Cons: Boshoff 3
Pens: Boshoff 4
Drops: Boshoff

Pumas: 15 JW Bell, 14 Bernado Botha, 13 Jerome Pretorius, 12 Stefan Watermeyer (captain), 11 Rosco Spekman, 10 JC Roos, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Jason-Colin Fraser, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Giant Mtyanda, 4 Rudi Mathee, 3 Khwezi Mona, 2 Frank Herne, 1 Corne Fourie.
Replacements: 16 Francois du Toit, 17 De-Jay Terblanche, 18 Jannie Stander, 19 Jaco Bouwer, 20 Reynier van Rooyen, 21 Justin van Staden, 22 Hoffmann Maritz

Golden Lions: 15 Ruan Combrinck, 14 Sampie Mastriet, 13 Stokkies Hanekom, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Ross Cronje (c), 8 Fabian Booysen, 7 Stephan de Wit, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Martin Muller, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Jacques van Rooyen.
Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Julian Redelinghuys, 18 MB Lusaseni, 19 Jano Venter, 20 Jaco van der Walt, 21 Alwyn Hollenbach, 22 Anthony Volmink.

Venue: Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
Referee:  Lesego Legoete
Assistant referees: AJ Jacobs, Jaco Kotze