Lions chop and change for Reds

Date published: March 24 2015

1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_Guy_Cronje_Lions_Super_Rugby_2015

Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has once again shuffled his starting XV for Friday's clash with the Reds in Brisbane.

In the backline, Ross Cronje returns to the starting XV at scrum-half. He pairs up with Elton Jantjies who shifts back to fly-half from inside centre.

Sampie Mastriet moves to left wing, making way for Ruan Combrinck who starts at right wing.

Harold Vorster returns to the starting line-up at inside centre, while Andries Coetzee takes over from Jaco van der Walt at fullback.

Meanwhile, in the forwards, Ackermann has made just one change for the game as Robbie Coetzee starts at hooker.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Sampie Mastriet, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Derick Minnie, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Robert Kruger, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Martin Muller, 20 Jaco Kriel, 21 Faf de Klerk, 22 Marnitz Boshoff, 23 Howard Mnisi.

Date: Friday, March 27
Venue: Lang Park, Brisbane
Kick-off: 19.00 local (09.00 GMT, 22.00 NZST, 11.00 SAST)
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Matt O'Brien (Australia), James Leckie (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)

COMMENTS