Lions announce Super Rugby squad

Date published: February 16 2017

Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has named a 40-man squad for this year’s Super Rugby tournament.

The squad will be captained by back-row Warren Whiteley, who is one of nine Springboks in the squad.

The other Springboks are: fellow loose forard Jaco Kriel, lock Franco Mostert, hooker Malcolm Marx, fly-half Elton Jantjies, scrum-half Faf de Klerk, wing Ruan Combrinck and centres Rohan Janse van Rensburg and Lionel Mapoe,

Springbok Sevens stalwart Kwagga Smith, who plies his trade as a flanker in the 15-man code, has also been included.

Lions Super Rugby squad:

Forwards: Justin Ackerman, Ruan Ackermann, Fabian Booysen, Cyle Brink, Robbie Coetzee, Hacjivah Dayimani, Ruan Dreyer, Lourens Erasmus, Andries Ferreira, Corne Fourie, Johannes Jonker, Jaco Kriel, Robert Kruger, Malcolm Marx, Franco Mostert, Marvin Orie, Sitembiso Sithole, Kwagga Smith, Dylan Smith, Armand van der Merwe, Jacques van Rooyen, Hencus van Wyk, Warren Whiteley (c)

Backs: Andries Coetzee, Ruan Combrinck, Ross Cronje, Faf de Klerk, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Elton Jantjies, Sylvain Mahuza, Lionel Mapoe, Howard Mnisi, Jacques Nel, Shaun Reynolds, Courtnall Skosan, Dillon Smit, Michael Tambwe, Jaco van der Walt, Anthony Volmink, Harold Vorster