Leinster start with a victory

Date published: September 2 2016

Leinster got their PRO12 season off to a winning start but they missed out on a try bonus-point in their 20-8 victory over Treviso in Dublin.

Two Joey Carbery tries helped the Irish province ease their way past Treviso to secure four points on the opening day of the season.

The home side went ahead after three minutes, and remained in the driving seat from there on in.

Carbery's double was added to by James Tracy late in the game, with Treviso's only response coming from lock Marco Fuser.

Just three minutes in to the new season, the home supporters were rewarded with their side's first try of the season from debutant Carbery, followed by Fergus McFadden slotting the conversion to make it 7-0.

After a quiet 25 minutes, Carbery was able to break free of the Treviso defence, before scoring his second of the night from more than 40 metres out.

McFadden's touchline conversion drifted wide, but he atoned for his errors moments later with a fine penalty.

The visitors hit back just before the break as Fuser crossed the whitewash, making the most of a spell of sustained pressure from the Italians.

In the second half Tommaso Allan opened his account for the season with a simple penalty from the 22-metre line as the Italians looked for a way back in to the tie.

Tracy found the whitewash from the back of a driving maul to all but finish the tie off, giving the hosts a 12-point lead with just six minutes left on the clock.

The scorers:

For Leinster:
Tries: Carbery 2, Tracy
Con: McFadden
Pen: McFadden

For Treviso:
Try: Fuser
Pen: Allan

Leinster: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Zane Kirchner, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Noel Reid, 11 Fergus McFadden, 10 Joey Carbery, 9 Luke McGrath (c), 8 Dan Leavy, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Dominic Ryan, 5 Mike McCarthy, 4 Ross Molony, 3 Michael Bent, 2 Bryan Byrne, 1 Cian Healy
Replacements: 16 James Tracy, 17 Andrew Porter, 18 Mike Ross, 19 Hayden Triggs, 20 Jordi Murphy, 21 Jamison Gibson-Park, 22 Cathal Marsh, 23 Rory O'Loughlin

Treviso: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Angelo Esposito, 13 Tommaso Benvenuti, 12 Luke McLean, 11 Andrea Buondonno, 10 Tommaso Allan, 9 Giorgio Bronzini, 8 Alessandro Zanni (c), 7 Marco Lazzaroni, 6 Francesco Minto, 5 Filo Paulo, 4 Marco Fuser, 3 Simone Ferrari, 2 Ornel Gega, 1 Nicola Quaglio
Replacements: 16 Roberto Santamaria, 17 Alberto De Marchi, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Dean Budd, 20 Marco Barbini, 21 Edoardo Gori, 22 Ian McKinley, 23 David Odiete

Referee: Ian Davies (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Sean Brickel (Wales), Joy Neville (Ireland)
TMO: Paul Adams (Wales)