Leicester thump Sale

Date published: February 28 2015

Leicester Tigers outscored the Sale Sharks three tries to one to claim a 28-8 win in Saturday's Premiership clash at Welford Road.

Having established a commanding lead in the first half, Tigers eased to victory.
It was a battle of two of the competition's form sides at Welford Road. The Tigers were narrow victors at London Irish a week earlier while Sale had overcome Saracens to make it three wins on the bounce.

Freddie Burns got the hosts off the mark with a penalty goal after five minutes, but Nick MacLeod responded in kind for Sale.

But the Tigers established their lead when Laurence Pearce span out of the tackle to dot down the game's first try, which Burns converted.

Burns added another penalty to make it 13-3, and he was on target again later in the half after Leicester were awarded a penalty try following dominant work at the scrum from the hosts.

The seven points put 17 between the two teams at the interval, but the Sharks were able to close the gap ahead of the hour through Luke Arscott, who eluded Mathew Tait at the touchline to the satisfaction of the TMO.

But Burns kept things ticking over for Leicester when he added a penalty shortly after.

And they rounded off a pleasing afternoon with a try on the stroke of full-time thanks to Seremaia Bai's perfectly-timed burst.

Burns missed with the extras, but it mattered little to the more than 20,000 in attendance at Welford Road.

The scorers:

For Leicester:
Tries: Pearce, Penalty try, Bai
Cons: Burns 2
Pens: Burns 3
Yellow card: Bai

For Sale:
Pens: Macleod
Yellow cards: Arscott, Lund

Leicester Tigers: 15 Mathew Tait, 14 Blaine Scully, 13 Vereneki Goneva, 12 Seremaia Bai, 11 Adam Thompstone, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Sam Harrison, 8 Jordan Crane (c), 7 Jamie Gibson, 6 Laurence Pearce, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Logovi'i Mulipola, 2 Neil Briggs, 1 Marcos Ayerza.
Replacements: 16 Harry Thacker, 17 Michele Rizzo, 18 Fraser Balmain, 19 Sebastian De Chaves, 20 Jack Whetton, 21 David Mele, 22 Tommy Bell, 23 Christian Loamanu.

Sale Sharks: 15 Mike Haley, 14 Tom Arscott, 13 Johnny Leota, 12 Sam Tuitupou, 11 Mark Cueto, 10 Nick Macleod, 9 Chris Cusiter, 8 Josh Beaumont, 7 Magnus Lund, 6 Dan Braid (c), 5 Nathan Hines, 4 Jonathan Mills, 3 Vadim Cobilas, 2 Marc Jones, 1 Eifion Lewis Roberts.
Replacements: 16 Tommy Taylor, 17 Maxim Cobilas, 18 Ross Harrison, 19 Mark Easter, 20 David Seymour, 21 Will Cliff, 22 Joe Ford, 23 Tom Brady.

Venue: Welford Road
Referee: Matt Carley
Assistant referees: Nigel Carrick, Simon McConnell
TMO: Rowan Kitt