Lavanini banned for one week

Date published: September 7 2014

Tomas-Lavanini-Arg-v-NZ-RC-2014_3201025

Argentina second row Tomas Lavanini has received a week-long ban for foul play in Saturday's loss to New Zealand in Napier.

Argentina second row Tomas Lavanini has received a week-long ban for foul play in Saturday's loss to New Zealand in Napier.

The SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Adam Casselden has accepted a guilty plea from Lavanini for contravening Law 10.4 (h) Dangerous charging, after he was cited during the Rugby Championship match at the weekend.

Lavanini has been suspended from all forms of the game for one week up to and including 13 September 2014.

The incident occurred in the 51st minute of the match which New Zealand won 28-9 at McLean Park in Napier.

In his finding, Casselden ruled the following:

“Having considered the available evidence and helpful submissions of Dr Rizzi, the player was offered a one week suspension which was accepted.

“In assessing the incident I was satisfied that the low entry level should apply.

“The player's action can be described as reckless and not intentional. I accepted as mitigating factors the age of the player, his good playing record and his early guilty plea. The recommended sanction at the lower end for this offence is a two week suspension.

“As a result of my finding of mitigating factors I reduced the two week sanction by one week, thus imposing a suspension of one week. The player was accordingly suspended from all rugby for one week up to and including 13 September 2014.

“This means that the player will miss his next scheduled match against Australia.”

COMMENTS