Late try bonus for Waikato

Date published: October 9 2014

Waikato secured a bonus point win over Bay of Plenty with the last play of the game, as Jordan Payne’s score ensured a 29-12 win.

Waikato secured a bonus point win over Bay of Plenty with the last play of the game, as Jordan Payne’s score ensured a 29-12 win.

The victory means little in terms of success for the hosts, but does move them 19 points clear of relegated Wellington for now.

Thrashed by Auckland the week before, Waikato ran in four tries over the Championship side with Marty McKenzie adding three conversion and a penalty as they welcomed back prop Ben Tameifuna following his suspension for pushing a referee.

A scrappy contest, Payne’s last-minute effort added some gloss to the scoreline for Waikato, with Bay of Plenty full-back Byron McGuigan grabbing two tries for the visitors.

Mooloos captain Brad Weber was the first man over, capitalising on good work from his team in the build-up to cross under the sticks.

Bay of Plenty responded with McGuigan’s first try, set up by Tino Nemani’s scything run. The missed conversion and McKenzie’s penalty left the hosts up 10-5 at the break.

Waikato hooker Hame Faiva then easily produced the score of the contest, sprinting up out of defence to intercept Culum Retallick’s pass and having the speed from 30 metres out to get the ball over the line. His efforts however did force him to withdraw through injury.

Bay of Plenty came back with McGuigan’s second try but Waikato could sense the full five points on offer after Declan O’Donnell stepped his way over in the corner for try number three.

A long-range effort with a number of Waikato replacements did the business, setting Payne up to ensure the maximum.

The scorers:

For Waikato:
Tries: Weber, Faiva, O’Donnell, Payne
Cons: McKenzie 3
Pen: McKenzie

For Bay of Plenty:
Tries: McGuigan 2
Cons: Hollinshead

Waikato: 15 Wharenui Hawera, 14 Regan Ware, 13 Chauncy Edwardson, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Declan O’Donnell, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber (capt), 8 Josh Tyrell, 7 Zak Hohneck, 6 Whetu Douglas, 5 Jacob Skeen, 4 Luke Katene, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hame Faiva, 1 Josh Hohneck.
Replacements: 16 Brayden Mitchell/Harry Jones, 17 Loni Uhila, 18 Nick Ross, 19 Zane Kapeli, 20 Troy Lobendahn, 21 Dylan Collier, 22 Jordan Payne.

Bay of Plenty: 15 Byron McGuigan, 14 Tino Nemani, 13 Nick Evemy, 12 Doug Edwards, 11 Siaosi Iongi, 10 Dan Hollinshead, 9 Jono Kitto, 8 Carl Axtens, 7 Hamish Gosling, 6 Johan Bardoul, 5 Tim Bond, 4 Culum Retallick (c), 3 Mike Kainga, 2 Joe Royal, 1 Solomona Sakalia.
Replacements: 16 Vyron Smith, 17 Pingi Tala’apitaga, 18 Siegfried Fisiihoi, 19 David Whitecliffe-Davies, 20 Te Aihe Toma, 21 Leroy Van Dam, 22 Kimami Sitauti.

Referee: Garratt Williamson