La Rochelle claim important win

Date published: November 6 2016

La Rochelle claimed an important 27-6 bonus-point victory over Pau at Stade Marcel-Deflandre on Sunday.

The win sees the home side jump to second place with 30 points but are still way behind first placed Clermont who have 36 points. Pau claim nothing from the game and stay at 12th spot with 17 points on the points table.

The home side drew first blood when tight-head prop Mohamed Boughanmi barged over for his side which outside centre Zack Holmes converted promptly.

La Rochelle then compounded their lead when they scored a penalty in 31st minute. Pau finally got onto the score board moments after as Taylor kicked a penalty for his side making the score line 10 to three.

In the second half Pau clawed their way back into the game with a penalty which was immediately nullified by a try from La Rochelle replacement Jeremie Maurouard.

Any chances of a Pau come back were dashed when prop Malik Hamadache was yellow carded. Which was shortly followed by another try from Maurouard.

The scorers:

For La Rochelle:
Tries: Maurouard 2, Boughanmi
Cons: Holmes, James 2
Pens: James 2

For Pau:
Pens: Taylor 2

La Rochelle: 15 Charles Bouldoire, 14 kini murimurivalu, 13 Zack Holmes, 12 Levani Botia, 11 Vincent Rattez, 10 Brock James, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Roman Sazy, 6 Jason Eaton, 5 Jone Qovu, 4 Romana Graham, 3 Mohamed Boughanmi, 2 Hikairo Forbes, 1 Vincent Pelo
Replacements: 16 Jeremiah Maurouard, 17 Dany Priso, 18 Leandro Cedaro, 19 Afa Amosa, 20 Arthur Retière, 21 Eliott Roudil, 22 Gabriel Lacroix, 23 Luc Mousset

Pau: 15 Tom Taylor, 14 Louis Dupichot, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Jale Vatubua, 11 Watisoni Votu, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Julien Tomas, 8 Steffon Armitage, 7 Pierrick Gunther, 6 Ben Mowen, 5 Fabrice Metz, 4 Daniel Ramsay, 3 Malik Hamadache, 2 Mehdi Boundjema, 1 Jamie Mackintosh,
Replacements: 16 Thomas Bianchin, 17 Chris King, 18 Masalosalo Tutaia, 19 Giovanni Habel Kuffner, 20 Sean Dougall, 21 Thibault Daubagna, 22 Charly Malié, 23 Joel Sclavi

Referee: Tual Trainini