Kriel in the clear

Date published: April 19 2017

Lions flanker Jaco Kriel has been cleared after SANZAAR found him not guilty of late-charging the kicker against the Stormers on the weekend.

A SANZAAR Judicial Committee Hearing has found Jaco Kriel of the Lions not guilty of contravening Law 10.4 Late charging the Kicker, after he was cited during a Super Rugby match at the weekend.

No further sanction has been imposed on the player. The incident occurred in the 26th minute of the match between the Stormers and Lions played at Newlands, Cape Town on Saturday 15 April 2017.

The SANZAAR Judicial Hearing held via video conference on Wednesday 19 April 2017 was heard by Andre Oosthuizen (Chairman), David Croft and Eroni Clarke.

In his finding, the Judicial Committee Chairman Andre Oosthuizen ruled the following: "Having conducted a detailed review of all the available evidence, including all camera angles and additional evidence, including from the player and submissions from his legal representative, Frikkie Erasmus, the Judicial Committee concluded that the Red Card threshold had not been met to satisfy the citing and that the on field Yellow Card was sufficient."  

"The Judicial Committee found that the Player came into contact with the opposing Fly Half in the course of the Player attempting to charge down, that his action did not amount to an intentional late charge or obstruction and accordingly had not committed a transgression of Law 10.4.

"The player is therefore free to resume playing.”

COMMENTS