Jenkins leads, Tipuric starts

Date published: March 14 2013

Wales will be captained by Gethin Jenkins for their Six Nations clash with England in a line-up that sees Justin Tipuric start at openside.

Wales will be captained by Gethin Jenkins for their Six Nations fixture with England in a line-up that sees Justin Tipuric come in as openside.

Jenkins has recovered from a calf-injury that ruled him out of the victory at Murrayfield and will win his 98th cap when he captains the XV on Saturday.

He comes back into the front-row and will line-up alongside Richard Hibbard and Adam Jones.

Ospreys duo Alun-Wyn Jones and Ian Evans continue their lock partnership with the latter featuring in his tenth straight Six Nations match.

In the absence of captain Ryan Jones in the back-row, Sam Warburton switches to blindside flanker with Tipuric coming in to wear the number seven shirt alongside Toby Faletau at number eight.

Wales' 28-18 victory in Edinburgh set a new Welsh record for consecutive away victories in the tournament and the consistency continues in the selection with interim head coach Rob Howley naming the same back line that has started each Six Nations game this season.

Mike Phillips will become Wales' most capped scrum-half when he wins his 77th cap, surpassing Dwayne Peel's previous record of 76. Phillips partners Dan Biggar at half-back.

Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davies line-up in the centre with Leigh Halfpenny, Alex Cuthbert and George North making up the back-three.

Wales' experienced side features twelve players who started the Grand Slam decider against France last season.

“The players have worked very hard to put themselves in this position for Saturday, with three hard fought victories on the road,” said Howley.

“Gethin comes back in and will captain the side and his leadership will be invaluable.

“Saturday is a big finale for the tournament but we have a very experienced squad, who have been in this position before, that have played in big games and that will be important come kick-off.”

Bath prop Paul James takes his place amongst the replacements and the only other change sees Aaron Shingler come in to replace Tipuric.

Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Sam Warburton, 5 Ian Evans, 4 Alun-Wyn Jones, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Gethin Jenkins.
Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Paul James, 18 Scott Andrews, 19 Andrew Coombs, 20 Aaron Shingler, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 James Hook, 23 Scott Williams.

Date: Saturday, 16 March
Venue: Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
Kick-off: 17:00 GMT
Referee: Steve Walsh (Australia)
Assistant referees: Craig Joubert (South Africa), John Lacey (Ireland)
Television match official: Marshall Kilgore (Ireland)