Japan hammer Uruguay

Date published: August 22 2015

Japan brought their four-game losing streak to an end on Saturday, thrashing fellow World Cup participants Uruguay 30-8 at Level 5 Stadium in Fukuoka.

Having kicked off their World Cup preparations in shaky fashion with last week's 45-20 loss to the World XV in Tokyo, the Brave Blossoms bounced back as they outscored their visitors three tries to one.

Number eight Hendrik Tui scored two tries while hooker Shota Horie added a third to go with three conversions and three penalties from as many attempts by Ayumu Goromaru.

Tui's opening try after just ten minutes meant Japan never trailed and Horie's try ensured they held a healthy lead at the interval.

Uruguay's Felipe Berchesi and Goromaru exchanged penalties and Jeronimo Etcheverry went over for a well-worked try by the visitors to make it 17-8 at the break.

The second-half saw Japan dominate possession and territory, and Goromaru banged over two penalties before Tui crossed for his second try following a superb driving maul in the 65th minute to seal the win.

Coming just 10 days before they leave for England, the result is a welcome morale booster for the 2019 World Cup hosts.

"It was a tricky game," said Japan coach Eddie Jones.

"They defended well and the ball was slippery. But our set play was good, our line-out was excellent and our scrum got better as the game went on. We weren't that sharp in attack and were hanging back a bit but we have regained some confidence."

The two sides meet again in Tokyo next Saturday.

The scorers:

For Japan:
Tries: Tui 2, Horie
Cons: Goromaru 3
Pens: Goromaru 3

For Uruguay:
Try: Etcheverry
Pen: Berchesi

The teams:

Japan: 15 Ayumu Goromaru, 14 Karne Hesketh, 13 Male Sau, 12 Yu Tamura, 11 Keisuke Uchida, 10 Kosei Ono, 9 Atsushi Hiwasa, 8 Hendrik Tui, 7 Hayden Hopgood, 6 Michael Leitch (c), 5 Shoji Ito, 4 Hitoshi Ono, 3 Hiroshi Yamashita, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Masataka Mikami.
Remplacements: 16 Takayuki Watanabe, 17 Hiroki Yuhara, 18 Shinnosuke Kakinaga, 19 Luke Thompson, 20 Tsuyoshi Murata, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Toshiaki Hirose, 23 Yoshikazu Fujita.

Uruguay: 15 Gastón Mieres. 14 Santiago Gibernau; 13 Joaquín Prada, 12 Andrés Vilaseca, 11 Jerónimo Etcheverry, 10 Felipe Berchesi, 9 Agustin Ormaechea, 8 Alejandro Nieto, 7 Diego Magno, 6 Juan Gaminara, 5 Jorge Zerbino 4 Santiago Vilaseca (c) 3 Mario Sagario, 2 Nicolás Klappenbach, 1 Alejo Corral.
Remplacements: 16 German Kessler, 17 Oscar Durán, 18 Carlos Arboleya, 19 Franco Lamanna, 20 Matías Beer, 21 Juan de Freitas, 22 Alejo Durán, 23 Leandro Leivas