Jane starts for All Blacks

Date published: October 16 2013

New Zealand have named returning wing Cory Jane in their starting line-up for Saturday's Bledisloe Cup clash at Forsyth Barr Stadium.

New Zealand have named returning wing Cory Jane in their starting line-up for Saturday's Bledisloe Cup clash against the Wallabies at Forsyth Barr Stadium.

There are three personnel changes to the side that started in the 38-27 win over South Africa at Ellis Park.

Ten months after rupturing several ligaments in his knee, 30-year-old Jane will cap a remarkable recovery as he wins his 44th Test cap.

As predicted, Ben Smith moves from the wing to outside centre, taking over from Conrad Smith, who is on an extended break.

Lock Jeremy Thrush is given his first start in the second row as Brodie Retallick drops to the bench.

Keven Mealamu starts at hooker with Andrew Hore dropping out of the squad.

The only other change on the bench sees Tom Taylor come in as one of the back reserves.

“It's great to have Cory Jane back. He has been a world-class performer and we are looking forward to seeing him back in the black jersey. It's also exciting to have Ben Smith getting his first start at centre for the season,” said All Black head coach Steve Hansen.

“We respect the Australians immensely, but we understand that this match not only has the challenge of our opponent, but also one of the biggest challenges in sport, and that is backing up a great performance (in Johannesburg) with another great performance.

“This is a challenge this team needs and will help define the progress we are making. If we don't attempt to improve our performance from our last outing, we are vulnerable to being overtaken.”

New Zealand: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Ben Smith, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ben Franks, 19 Brodie Retallick, 20 Sam Cane, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Tom Taylor.

Date: Saturday, October 16
Venue: Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Kick-off: 19.35 (06.35 GMT)
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Stuart Berry (South Africa)
TMO: Vinny Munro (New Zealand)