Jaguares well beaten at Newlands

Date published: February 13 2016

Argentina's Super Rugby franchise, the Jaguares, were defeated 29-14 by the Stormers at Newlands in their pre-season friendly on Saturday.

Despite naming a strong side captained by Agustín Creevy the Jaguares were clearly second best in Cape Town against the Stormers, who were playing their final pre-season match ahead of their Super Rugby opener against the Bulls.

Dillyn Leyds' grubber kick produced the game's first try for Leolin Zas and the full-back was the next to score after good work with Huw Jones, leaving the hosts ahead 12-0 at half-time.

The Jaguares lost replacement Javier Ortega Desio to a yellow card for a dangerous tackle after the break, with Robert du Preez knocking over a penalty to make it 15-0.

But the visitors hit back through a try from Santiago González Iglesias – however the comeback was short-lived as Khanyo Ngcukana and JD Schickerling added two more scores for the Stormers.

Facundo Isa's try for the Jaguares right on full-time added some respectability to the scoreboard, but the Stormers were worthy winners.

The scorers:

For Stormers:
Tries: Zas, Leyds, Ngcukana, Schickerling
Cons: Du Preez, Thompson 2
Pen: Du Preez

For Jaguares:
Tries: González Iglesias, Isa
Cons: Landajo 2

Stormers: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Robert Du Preez, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Nizaam Carr (captain), 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble.
Replacements from: Scarra Ntubeni, JC Janse van Rensburg, JP Smith, Jan de Klerk, JD Schickerling, Jurie van Vuuren,  Kurt Coleman, Michael Willemse, Nic Groom, Louis Schreuder, Ryan Oosthuizen, Khanyo Ngcukana, Alistair Vermaak, Brandon Thompson, Rikus Bothma,  Godlen Masimla.

Jaguares: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Matías Orlando, 13 Matías Moroni, 12 Jerónimo De la Fuente, 11 Santiago Cordero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Facundo Isa, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6 Tomás Lezana, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustín Creevy (captain), 1 Santiago García Botta.
Replacements from: Julian Montoya, Lucas Noguera Paz, Cristian Bartoloni, Felipe Arregui, Santiago Iglesias Valdez, Felipe Ezcurra, Santiago González Iglesias, Rodrigo Baez, Emiliano Boffelli, Tomás Carrio, Gonzalo Bertranou, Javier Ortega Desio, Leonardo Senatore, Pablo Matera, Guido Petti, Ignacio Larrague, Ramiro Herrera.

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen