Jaguares put Lions to the sword

Date published: February 20 2016

The Jaguares made a big statement in their final warm-up match when they secured a 49-28 win over the Lions in Johannesburg on Friday.

The Argentinian side outscored the Lions seven tries to four with inside centre Jerónimo De la Fuente leading the way for the vistors with a deserved hat trick.

In an entertaining match, played at a frenetic pace, both sides gave the ball plenty of air and the visitors' enterprising play was rewarded early on when Santiago Codero crossed for the game's opening try.

The hosts drew level shortly afterwards, when Corne Fourie crossed for their opening try, but the Jaguares soon took control of proceedings when Emilliano Bofelli scored their second try.

De la Fuente then took advantage of poor defensive work by the Lions to score his first try and he crossed for his second five-pointer late in the half which gave his team a 28-7 lead at half-time.

Replacement scrum-half Gonzalo Bertranou got over for his side's fourth try early in the second half before De la Fuente sealed a superb individual performance with his third try.

The Lions didn't surrender and were soon rewarded when Harold Vorster dotted down but the Jaguares continued to dominate and were soon awarded a penalty try which gave them a 49-14 lead.

Despite being outplayed, the hosts continued to attack and Ruan Lerm and Lourens Erasmus also crossed the whitewash towards the end of the match.

The scorers:

For Lions: 
Tries: Fourie, Vorster, Ackerman, Lusaseni
Cons: Boshoff 4

For Jaguares: 
Tries: De la Fuente 3, Boffelli, Cordero, Bertranou, penalty try
Cons: Sánchez 6, González Iglesias

Lions: 15 JW Bell, 14 Koch Marx, 13 Stokkies Hanekom, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Dillon Smit, 8 Ruan Ackermann, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Stephan De Wit, 5 MB Lusaseni (c), 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Pieter Scholtz, 2 Armand van der Merwe, 1 Corne Fourie. 
Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Bobby De Wee, 21 Martin Muller, 22 Ramone Samuels, 23 Fabian Booysen  24 Ruaan Lerm, 25 Jaco van der Walt, 26 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 27 Jacques Nel, 28 Ashlon Davids, 29 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 30 Ricky Schroeder, 31 Selom Gavor

Jaguares: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Emiliano Boffelli, 13 Matías Moroni, 12 Jerónimo De la Fuente, 11 Santiago Cordero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Javier Ortega Desio, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Lucas Noguera. 
Replacements: 16 Matías Orlando, 17 Julián Montoya, 18 Facundo Isa, 19 Santiago González Iglesias, 20 Gonzalo Bertranou, 21 Rodrigo Báez, 22 Matías Alemanno, 23 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 24 Santiago García Botta, 25 Felipe Ezcurra, 26 Joaquín Paz, 27 Felipe Arregui

Referee: Stuart Berry