Italy reduce squad to 37

Date published: July 6 2015

Italy coach Jacques Brunel has reduced his squad to 37 for the country's second training camp to meet in L'Aquila.

Sergio Parisse and Martin Castrogiovanni return after being rested for the first camp in Villabasa while there are five players who have missed out.

Andrea Lovotti (prop), Simone Ragusi (utility back) and a trio of flankers in George Biagi, Marco Barbini and Simone Favaro all miss out on the second stage.

Biagi and Favaro's omissions are down to injuries, with the pair unlikely to recover in time for the camp between 12-25 July.

"The first two weeks were all about paying attention to our conditioning," said Brunel.

"From July 12 we will begin to increase our technical training to be ready for August 22 in Turin when we face Scotland in the first of our three warm-up games ahead of the Rugby World Cup.

"Our preparation for the World Cup is going as expected.

"I want to thank all the players for their great commitment shown in Niederdorf, especially those players who won't continue training in the coming weeks, but may still come back into the group in the coming months if required."

Italy squad:

Forwards: Matias Aguero (Zebre), Martin Castrogiovanni (Toulon), Dario Chistolini (Zebre), Lorenzo Cittadini (Wasps), Alberto De Marchi (Sale), Michele Rizzo (Leicester), Leonardo Ghiraldini (Leicester), Davide Giazzon (Treviso), Andrea Manici (Zebre), Valerio Barnabo (Zebre), Marco Bortolami (Zebre), Joshua Furno (Newcastle), Marco Fuser (Treviso), Quintin Geldenhuys (Zebre), Robert Barbieri (Leicester), Mauro Bergamasco (Zebre), Francesco Minto (Treviso), Sergio Parisse (Stade Français), Samuela Vunisa (Zebre), Alessandro Zanni (Treviso), Paul Derbyshire (Treviso)

Backs: Edoardo Gori (Treviso), Guglielmo Palazzani (Zebre), Marcello Violi (Calvisano), Kelly Haimona (Zebre), Tommaso Allan (Perpignan), Enrico Bacchin (Treviso), Tommaso Benvenuti (Bristol), Michele Campagnaro (Treviso), Angelo Esposito (Treviso), Gonzalo Garcia (Zebre), Andrea Masi (Wasps), Luke McLean (Sale), Luca Morisi (Treviso), Leonardo Sarto (Zebre), Giovanbattista Venditti (Zebre), Michele Visentin (Zebre)