Italy name RWC training squad

Date published: June 4 2015

Italy boss Jacques Brunel has officially announced a list of fifty players to prepare for the Rugby World Cup in England in September.

40 of these players will meet at the Hotel Adler Niederdorf / Villabassa, in the province of Bolzano on June 14th for the first training camp.

Ten more will remain available as a reserve, ready to be called up if necessary.

At the first squad meeting will also be flanker Paul Derbyshire and prop Andrea Lovotti who will replace Sergio Parisse and Martin Castrogiovanni given the duo are still busy with the Top 14 play-offs. Parisse and Castrogiovanni will then rest before joining the national team on July 12 in L'Aquila, home of the second camp.

The list of 31 athletes summoned for the RWC will be announced at the conclusion of the final camp in Fiuggi on August 9 before three warm-up Tests against Scotland on August 22 and 29 in Turin and  in Edinburgh, before facing Wales on September 5 in Cardiff.

"We selected the players for the camp in Villabassa who we have worked with in recent seasons," said Brunel.

"The players included among the reserves  will work with their clubs, but in case we need them they will still have the opportunity, during preparation or the World Cup, to win a place.

"We expect an exciting and challenging three months to be ready for September 19 at Twickenham against France and I'm sure everyone will do their best to snatch a ticket to what promises to be a special edition of the Rugby World Cup "

Italy's RWC training squad: 

Forwards: Matias Aguero (Zebre), Martin Castrogiovanni (Toulon), Dario Chistolini (Zebre), Lorenzo Cittadini (Wasps), Alberto De Marchi (Sale), Michele Rizzo (Leicester), Leonardo Ghiraldini (Leicester), Davide Giazzon (Treviso), Andrea Manici (Zebre), Valerio Barnabo (Zebre), George Biagi (Zebre), Marco Bortolami (Zebre), Joshua Furno (Newcastle), Marco Fuser (Treviso), Quintin Geldenhuys (Zebre), Robert Barbieri (Leicester), Marco Barbini (Treviso), Mauro Bergamasco (Zebre), Simone Favaro (Treviso), Francesco Minto (Treviso), Sergio Parisse (Stade Français), Samuela Vunisa (Zebre), Alessandro Zanni (Treviso)

Backs: Edoardo Gori (Treviso), Guglielmo Palazzani (Zebre), Marcello Violi (Calvisano), Kelly Haimona (Zebre), Tommaso Allan (Perpignan), Enrico Bacchin (Treviso), Tommaso Benvenuti (Bristol), Michele Campagnaro (Treviso), Angelo Esposito (Treviso), Gonzalo Garcia (Zebre), Andrea Masi (Wasps), Luke McLean (Sale), Luca Morisi (Treviso), Simone Ragusi (Treviso), Leonardo Sarto (Zebre), Giovanbattista Venditti (Zebre), Michele Visentin (Zebre)

Reserve players: Tommaso Boni (Mogliano), Carlo Canna (Fiamme Oro), Leandro Cedaro (La Rochelle), Tommaso D'Apice (Zebre), Andrea De Marchi (Zebre), Paul Derbyshire (Treviso), Andrea Lovotti (Zebre), Alberto Lucchese (Treviso), Alberto Sgarbi (Treviso), Giulio Toniolatti (Zebre)