Ireland U20 ring the changes for semi-final

Date published: June 19 2016

Ireland head coach Nigel Carolan has rung the changes to his starting XV for Monday's semi-final against Argentina at World Rugby's U20 Championship in Manchester.

Front-rowers Andrew Porter, Adam McBurney and Ben Betts all return to the starting XV, as does captain James Ryan, who has recovered from the thigh injury that kept him out of the Georgia match. He will be joined in the second row by Sean O'Connor.

The back-row is comprised of Max Deegan at number eight and flankers David Aspil and Greg Jones. Jones will be making his fourth start of the Championship.

Stephen Kerins will wear the number nine jersey and will be partnered at half-back by Johnny McPhillips, who scored 18 points in last week's win over Georgia.

Conor O'Brien and Shane Daly make up the centre partnership and the back three is comprised of Jacob Stockdale at full-back and Matthew Byrne and Hugo Keenan on the wings.

Speaking ahead of the semi-final, Carolan said: "The players have done really well to get themselves into a World Championship Semi-Final.

"There's a great belief amongst this group and they've shown what they can do as a team over the course of the last number of games.

"Argentina are going to present another big test for us. They have a lot of physicality up front as well as pace out wide so we are going to need to be at the top of our game tomorrow."

The match will be broadcast live on TG4 and Sky Sports 3 and will be refereed by Craig Maxwell-Keys of the RFU.

Ireland U20: 15 Jacob Stockdale, 14 Matthew Byrne, 13 Shane Daly, 12 Conor O'Brien, 11 Hugo Keenan, 10 Johnny McPhillips, 9 Stephen Kerins, 8 Max Deegan, 7 David Aspil, 6 Greg Jones, 5 James Ryan, 4 Sean O'Connor, 3 Ben Betts, 2 Adam McBurney, 1 Andrew Porter 
Replacements: 16 Vincent O'Brien, 17 James Bollard, 18 Adam Coyle, 19 Evan Mintern, 20 Kelvin Brown, 21 Niall Saunders, 22 Brett Connon, 23 Jimmy O'Brien

Date: Monday, June 20
Venue: Manchester City Academy Stadium
Kick-off: 17:30 BST (16:30 GMT)
Referee: tbc
Assistant Referees: tbc
TMO: tbc