Ireland survive Scotland fightback

Date published: June 6 2015

Ireland edged out Scotland in a celtic battle at the U20 World Championship in Calvisano, winning 24-20.

Ireland started brightly with a try from full-back Billy Dardis after Garry Ringrose's excellent break, before Joel Carbery added a penalty after 20 minutes for an 8-0 lead.

An Irish attack from close-range then rewarded the side with their second try through flanker Conor Oliver, with Carbery converting to make it 15-0.

Scotland needed something to take into half-time and they got it through a penalty from George Horn, trailing by 12 at the interval.

Carbery and Horne traded penalties as Scotland grew in confidence, eventually picking up a try through lock Lewis Carmichael with Blair Kinghorn's conversion making it 18-13.

Carbery's third penalty stretched the gap before Ireland went down to 14 men with Oliver sent to the bin.

A penalty from Tuesday's Irish hero Tomas Quinlan opened up the gap to 11 points before Scotland grabbed a late consolation try through Ruaridh Knott for the final score to read 24-20.

The scorers:

For Ireland:
Tries: Dardis, Oliver
Con: Carbery
Pens: Carbery 3, Quinlan

For Scotland:
Tries: Carmichael, Knott
Cons: Kinghorn 2
Pens: Horne 2

Ireland: 15 Billy Dardis, 14 Ciaran Gaffney, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Sam Arnold, 11 Stephen Fitzgerald, 10 Joey Carbery, 9 Nick McCarthy (c), 8 Lorcan Dow, 7 Conor Oliver, 6 Josh Murphy, 5 Alex Thompson, 4 David O’Connor, 3 Oisin Heffernan, 2 Sean McNulty, 1 Andrew Porter.
Replacements: 16 Zack McCall, 17 Liam O'Connor, 18 Conan O’Donnell, 19 Jack Dwan, 20 Nick Timoney, 21 Charlie Rock, 22 Tomas Quinlan, 23 Jacob Stockdale.
Scotland: 15 Ruairi Howarth, 14 Robbie Nairn, 13 Tom Galbraith, 12 Patrick Kelly, 11 Alex Coombes, 10 Blair Kinghorn, 9 George Horne, 8 Magnus Bradbury, 7 Jamie Ritchie, 6 Neil Irvine-Hess, 5 Lewis Carmichael, 4 Scott Cummings, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Sam James, 1 Murray McCallum
Replacements: 16 Ross Graham, 17 Dan Elkington, 18 Jack Owlett, 19 Andrew Davidson, 20 Ruaridh Knott, 21 Ben Vellacott, 22 Rory Hutchinson, 23 Richard Galloway