Ireland name 46-man squad

Date published: January 23 2015

The Ireland coaching staff have named an extended squad of 46 players for the upcoming Six Nations matches against Italy and France, as well as the Ireland Wolfhounds fixture against the England Saxons.

There are two uncapped players named in the extended squad, Leinster backrow Jack Conan and New Zealand-born Connacht prop Nathan White.

Robin Copeland, David Kilcoyne, Luke Marshall, Donncha Ryan and Andrew Trimble will remain with their provinces to continue their recovery or to gain game time and may yet return for later Six Nations test matches.

Among the longer-term injured group are Chris Henry, Paddy Jackson, Stuart Olding, Dan Tuohy and Damien Varley who are unavailable for selection.

The Ireland Wolfhounds, will face a strong England Saxons selection at Irish Independent Park, Cork on Friday 30th.

The Wolfhounds will be coached by Dan McFarland and Richie Murphy.

“The coaching group have tried to strike a balance between some players getting the chance to fully complete their rehabilitation programmes, or get a bit of rest and others getting the opportunity to push their claims with further game time in the Wolfhounds fixture,” explained Head Coach Joe Schmidt.

Extended Ireland and Wolfhounds Squad:

Forwards (25): Michael Bent (Leinster), Rory Best (Ulster), Jack Conan (Leinster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), James Cronin (Munster), Robbie Diack (Ulster), Dave Foley (Munster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Rob Herring (Ulster), Mike McCarthy (Leinster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Martin Moore (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Sean O’Brien (Leinster), Paul O’Connell (Munster), Tommy O’Donnell (Munster), Peter O’Mahony (Munster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster), Dominic Ryan (Leinster), Richardt Strauss (Leinster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Nathan White (Connacht).

Backs (21): Isaac Boss (Leinster), Tommy Bowe (Ulster), Darren Cave (Ulster), Gordon D’Arcy (Leinster), Keith Earls (Munster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster), Craig Gilroy (Ulster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Felix Jones (Munster), David Kearney (Leinster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Ian Keatley (Munster), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Fergus McFadden (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Jared Payne (Ulster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Noel Reid (Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92), Simon Zebo (Munster).