IRB announce London Sevens draw

Date published: May 5 2014

The IRB have confirmed the pool draw for the final round of the Sevens World Series, the London Sevens at Twickenham this weekend.

The IRB have confirmed the pool draw for the ninth and final round of the HSBC Sevens World Series, the London Sevens from 10 to 11 May at Twickenham.

The draw was made just before the final at the Glasgow Sevens , where a rampant New Zealand overcame first-time Cup finalists Canada to capture their fourth title of the 2013/14 season.

In doing so the Sevens All Blacks also opened up an 19-point lead over closest Series rivals South Africa.

New Zealand, who are the defending champions in London, face hosts England in a mouth-watering final tie on a sold out first day at Twickenham.

As the Glasgow champions, New Zealand head Pool A in London and face ties against Argentina, Wales and England.

Canada reached their first ever final in Glasgow and as runners-up they head Pool B and will play matches on day one at Twickenham against Kenya, Samoa and USA.

In beating Scotland to finish third in Glasgow, Fiji start as top seed in Pool C and face Australia, Spain and Japan.

Scotland will travel to London with confidence high and face South Africa, whom they beat in the Glasgow quarter-finals, France and Portugal in Pool D.

London Sevens draw:

Pool A: New Zealand, England, Argentina, Wales
Pool B: Canada, Kenya, Samoa, USA
Pool C: Fiji, Australia, Spain, Japan
Pool D: Scotland, South Africa, France, Portugal

With thanks to the IRB