Hurricanes change three for Rebels

Date published: April 13 2016

The Hurricanes have a new look centre pairing for their Super Rugby match against the Rebels in Melbourne on Friday.

Three changes from the side that beat the Jaguares in Wellington last week were made by head coach Chris Boyd.

Vince Aso and Matt Proctor will form a new midfield as they partner for the first time this season. 

Aso replaces Ngani Laumape, who moves to the reserves, while Proctor shifts in from the right wing to take over from Willis Halaholo at centre.

Cory Jane is back in his preferred right wing position, while Jason Woodward takes his place at fullback.

Up front Vaea Fifita gets a start at lock in place of the injured Blade Thomson.

Boyd has also shuffled his replacements with Hawke’s Bay loose forward Tony Lambourn set to make his Super Rugby. Hooker Leni Apisai and lock Mark Abbott have also been named amongst the reserves.

Apisai takes the place of Motu Matu’u, Abbott takes the spot opened up by Fifita’s starting line-up promotion, Lambourn comes in for Callum Gibbins, who has been sidelined due to a heel injury.

Hurricanes: 15 Jason Woodward, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Vince Aso, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Brad Shields, 5 Michael Fatialofa, 4 Vaea Fifita, 3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen, 2 Dane Coles (c), 1 Reggie Goodes
Replacements: 16 Leni Apisai, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Ben May, 19 Mark Abbott, 20 Tony Lambourn, 21 Jamison Gibson-Park, 22 Otere Black, 23 Ngani Laumape

Date: Friday, April 15
Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne
Time: 19:45 local (09:45 GMT)
Referee: Rohan Hoffmann
Assistant Referees: Damien Mitchelmore, Ed Martin
TMO: Peter Marshall