Huget the hero as Toulouse beat Stade Francais

Date published: January 8 2017

A late brace from Yoann Huget handed Toulouse an 18-15 win over Stade Francais, taking them back into the top four in the process.

It was the hosts who were quick out of the blocks and indeed led for the most of the game, but a late onslaught from the visitors, thanks to Huget’s brace, clinched an important away win for Toulouse who now find themselves fourth in the Top 14.

Stade dominated the early exchanges and scored points when they got in the opposition half. Jules Plisson slotted three penalties in the first half, but Samuel Marques was finally able to get Toulouse on the scoresheet with a penalty on the stroke of half time.

The second half started much the same as the first when Plisson nailed a drop goal to further extend his side’s lead to 12-3. Marques and Plisson exchanged penalties maintained a nine-point lead going into the final quarter of the match.

Momentum shifted in Toulouse’s favour when Paul Gabrillagues was sent to the sin bin with a yellow card. It took the visitors a while to capatalise on their numerical advantage, but when Huget went over for his first try eight minutes later the game was on.

The winger scored his second two minutes later to seal a comeback win for his side and leave Stade languishing in the bottom half of the table.

The scorers:

For Stade Francais:
Pens: Plisson 4
Drop Goal: Plisson
Yellow Card: Gabrillagues

For Toulouse:
Tries: Huget 2
Con: Bezy
Pens: Marques 2

Stade Francais: 15 Hugo Bonneval, 14 Julien Arias, 13 Geoffrey Doumayrou, 12 Jonathan Danty, 11 Jérémy Sinzelle, 10 Jules Plisson, 9 Will Genia, 8 Sergio Parisse, 7 Raphaël Lakafia, 6 Sekou Macalou, 5 Paul Gabrillagues, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Rabah Slimani, 2 Laurent Sempere, 1 Emmanuel Felsina,
Replacements: 16 Laurent Panis, 17 Zurabi Zhvania, 18 Pascal Pape, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Clement Daguin, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Djibril Camara, 23 Giorgi Melikidze

Toulouse: 15 Maxime Médard, 14 Semi Kunatani, 13 Florian Fritz, 12 Gaël Fickou, 11 Yoann Huget, 10 Luke McAlister, 9 Samuel Marques, 8 Carl Axtens, 7 Piula Faasalele, 6 Thierry Dusautoir, 5 Joe Tekori, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Dorian Aldegheri, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 1 Vasil Kakovin
Replacements: 16 Christopher Tolofua, 17 Cyril Baille, 18 Gregory Lamboley, 19 Gillian Galan, 20 Talalelei Gray, 21 Sébastien Bezy, 22 Toby Flood, 23 Census Johnston

Referee: Alexandre Ruiz