Horrell, Messam back for Chiefs

Date published: July 11 2013


Andrew Horrell will make his first start for the Chiefs since April when they face off against the Blues on Saturday.

Andrew Horrell will make his first start for the Chiefs since April when they face off against the Blues on Saturday, in one of six changes made by coach Dave Rennie.

The full-back has made two appearances from the replacements bench in recent weeks as he worked his way back to fitness after being laid low by an ankle injury suffered early in the season.

Rennie has decided to hand Horrell the number 15 jersey for the Chiefs' final match of round robin play, with Robbie Robinson switching to the wing as a result. Asaeli Tikoirotuma drops to the bench.

Elsewhere among the backs, winger Lelia Masaga and centre Tim Nanai-Williams have shrugged off injuries to take their places in the starting XV.

Among the forwards, flankers Tanerau Latimer and Liam Messam return to the fray and they are joined by prop Toby Smith.

The Chiefs are assured of their place in the play-offs, but need a victory if they are to have a chance of beating the Bulls to top spot on the overall table.

“We are obviously pretty disappointed with our performance last week but we are excited about the opportunity to redeem ourselves,” commented Rennie.

“We know these are traditionally big clashes and know the Blues will want to put in a big performance in their final game of the season.”

Chiefs: 15 Andrew Horrell, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Tim Nanai-Williams, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Robbie Robinson, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Matt Vant Leven, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16 Mahonri Schwalger, 17 Pauliasi Manu, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Augustine Pulu, 21 Gareth Anscombe, 22 Asaeli Tikoirotuma.

Date:Saturday, July 13
Venue: Eden Park
Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Jonathon White (New Zealand), Garrett Williamson (New Zealand
Television match official: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)