Hong Kong Sevens pools announced

Date published: March 15 2016

The pools for Round Seven of the 2015/16 World Rugby Sevens Series in Hong Kong have been confirmed. 

The tournament will be staged over three days from 8 to 10 April.

Vancouver Sevens winners, New Zealand, head Pool A and will face Samoa, France and Kenya, while series leaders and defending champions Fiji will meet Wales, in a repeat of the 2013 final, along with Canada and Korea in Pool D. 

The Springbok Sevens, runners-up in Vancouver, await Scotland, England and Russia in Pool B, while Australia will meet USA, Argentina and Portugal in Pool C.

Apart from the main competition, there is also a 12-team qualifier tournament with the winner qualifying as a core team for the 2016/17 World Series, which was won by Russia in 2015 and Japan in 2014. 

The teams for the qualifier are Morocco and Zimbabwe (Africa), Hong Kong and Japan (Asia), Germany and Spain (Europe), Cayman Islands and Mexico (North America), Brazil and Chile (South America) and Papua New Guinea and Tonga (Oceania).

Hong Kong Sevens pools:

Pool A: New Zealand, Samoa, France, Kenya
Pool B: South Africa, Scotland, England, Russia
Pool C: Australia, USA, Argentina, Portugal
Pool D: Fiji, Wales, Canada, Korea