Hong Kong Sevens: Day 2 Wrap

Date published: March 23 2013

Defending champions Fiji and New Zealand progressed to the Cup as the only unbeaten sides in the main competition in Hong Kong.

Defending champions Fiji and New Zealand progressed to the Cup as the only unbeaten sides left in the main competition in Hong Kong.

Bowl Quarter-Finals:
Argentina v Hong Kong
Scotland v United States
Spain v South Africa
France v England

Cup Quarter-Finals:
Wales v Canada
Portugal v Kenya
Fiji v Australia
New Zealand v Samoa

Pool A
(Argentina, Wales, Australia, South Africa)

Wales 19-14 Argentina
South Africa 12-21 Australia
Argentina 5-12 Australia
South Africa 31-0 Wales

Australia endured a tough first three matches, winning against South Africa and Argentina on day two after their defeat to Wales on day one to set up a quarter-final with defending champions Fiji.

Paul Treu's South Africa missed out on the Cup, ensuring their wait for a first ever Hong Kong title continues and they will compete for the Bowl.

Pool B
(New Zealand, Kenya, USA, France)

United States 19-21 France
New Zealand 31-7 Kenya
France 17-19 Kenya
New Zealand 24-12 United States

New Zealand finished top of Pool B following comfortable wins over Kenya and the United States to qualify for the knockout stages, along with Kenya who dramatically qualified by scoring after the buzzer had sounded at the expense of France.

Pool C
(Samoa, Portugal, Scotland, England)

Scotland 14-5 England
Samoa 10-14 Portugal
England 22-7 Portugal
Samoa 12-12

Samoa drew with Scotland 12-12 to secure their place and will meet the series leaders New Zealand, whilst Portugal, who are threatened by relegation, added their second victory in two matches with a stunning 14-12 defeat of Samoa and will play Kenya.

Scotland defeated England resulting in both sides dropping into the Bowl competition.

Pool D
(Fiji, Canada, Spain, Hong Kong)

Fiji 22-12 Spain
Canada 14-12 Hong Kong
Spain 28-14 Hong Kong
Canada 5-26 Fiji

Canada narrowly beat hosts Hong Kong 14-12 to set up their meeting with the reigning RWC Sevens champions Wales, whilst Fiji comfortably defeated Spain and Canada to progress undefeated into the quarter-finals.

With thanks to the IRB