Higginbotham not guilty

Date published: February 16 2015

1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_Scott_Higginbotham_Rebels_is_held_Super_Rugby_v_Crusaders

SANZAR Judicial Hearing has found Rebels captain Scott Higginbotham not guilty of contravening Law 10.4 (b) Stamping or trampling after he was cited.

No further sanction has been imposed on the player.

The incident occurred in the 50th minute during the match between the Crusaders and Rebels at AMI Stadium in Christchurch.

The SANZAR Judicial Hearing was heard by Adam Casselden via video conference. David Croft was the former professional player who attended as a Judicial Technical Adviser.

In his finding, Casselden ruled the following:

"After hearing from the player and Mr Tim North QC and watching the video footage a number of times, I could not be satisfied on the balance of probabilities that the player intentionally or deliberately stamped his opponent.

"I accepted the evidence of Mr Higginbotham that he was attempting to jump over his opponent who was rolling towards him when he miscalculated his jump and made accidental contact with the opponent's head.

"This evidence was consistent with the evidence of Mr McCaw who stated that Mr Higginbotham immediately apologised to him after the incident saying it was accidental. Mr McCaw accepted Mr Higginbotham's apology as genuine."

 

COMMENTS