Heaslip leads Ireland in Cardiff

Date published: August 6 2015

Ireland have announced their side to face Wales in Cardiff this weekend, captained by number eight Jamie Heaslip.

Heaslip is joined in the back row by Tommy O'Donnell and Jordi Murphy. 

Donnacha Ryan makes his international return after an absence through injury of over two years and is partnered in the second row by Iain Henderson. 

Mike Ross will win his 50th cap for Ireland on Saturday. He is partnered in the front row by Richardt Strauss and Jack McGrath.

Eoin Reddan and Paddy Jackson make up the half-back pairing. Keith Earls, also returning to the Ireland team after a two-year gap, is partnered in the centre by Darren Cave.

The back three consists of Fergus McFadden, Andrew Trimble and Felix Jones.

Ireland: 15 Felix Jones, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Keith Earls, 12 Darren Cave, 11 Fergus McFadden, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Eoin Reddan, 8 Jamie Heaslip (c), 7 Tommy O'Donnell, 6 Jordi Murphy, 5 Donnacha Ryan, 4 Iain Henderson, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 Jack McGrath
Replacements: 16 Rory Best, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Dan Tuohy, 20 Chris Henry, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Simon Zebo

Date: Saturday, August 8
Venue: Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
Kick-Off: 14:30 local (13:30 GMT)
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Pascal Gauzère (France), Mathieu Raynal (France)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)