Heaslip and Pape make peace

Date published: February 18 2015

1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_140653315

Ireland number eight Jamie Heaslip has accepted an apology from France lock Pascal Papé after being ruled out with a back injury.

Papé will face a disciplinary hearing in London on Wednesday after he was cited for dropping his knee into Heaslip during last weekend's Six Nations match between the two countries.

Heaslip has consequently been ruled out for the next four weeks, ruling him immediately out of Ireland's key fixtures against England and Wales.

Papé was yellow carded at the time but the fact that Heaslip was seriously injured as a result of the former France captain's actions are likely to increase the odds of a ban.

"Sincerely sorry to have injured @jamieheaslip in this action of the match, not at all my intention to do him any harm #objectivityforsome," said Papé on Twitter on Tuesday, hours before his hearing.

Heaslip replied in French and English, saying:

"@pascalpape thanks for your message. Rugby is a physical game and one accepts that can happen. I accept your apology completely."

COMMENTS