Gopperth leads the way as Wasps beat Exeter

Date published: September 4 2016

Jimmy Gopperth scored 15 points as London Wasps got their Premiership season off to a 25-20 victory over Exeter Chiefs on Sunday.

Wasps were looking for payback after last seasons semi-final defeat at the hands of Exeter. Exeter started on the front foot and Thomas Waldrom made the home side pay with a try within three minutes.

Henry Slade scored the conversion and a penalty to put Exeter 10-0 ahead.

Gopperth clawed three points back for the home side with a penalty of his own. With eight minutes left in the first half Dan Robson found Gopperth on the wing who had to beat four men to score in the corner. Although he couldn’t manage the conversion, striking the post from an acute angle.

Less then five minutes later Wasps where caught sleeping and a great one-two on the wing worked Will Chudley through for Exeter’s second try of the match.

Slade bagged the conversion to make it 17-8 going into halftime. James Gaskall was caught offside early in the second half and Slade made him pay with another three points. Christian Wade broke through on the wing and found Robson on the inside to steal a try back for Wasps.

Gopperth scored the conversion to get the home side right back in the game at 20-15. Wasps drew level when Tommy Taylor snuck over the line off the back of a driving maul.

Gopperth’s conversion handed the home side the lead for the first time in the match at 22-20. One final shot at the posts from Gopperth clinched a 25-20 win for Wasps.

The scorers:

For Wasps
Tries: Gopperth, Robson, Taylor
Cons: Gopperth 2
Pen: Gopperth 2

For Chiefs
Tries: Waldrom, Chudley
Cons: Slade 2
Pens: Slade 2

Wasps: 15 Rob Miller, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Jimmy Gopperth, 11 Josh Bassett, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Dan Robson, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 Guy Thompson, 6 Sam Jones, 5 James Gaskell, 4 Joe Launchbury (c), 3 Phil Swainston, 2 Tommy Taylor, 1 Matt Mullan
Replacements: 16 Ashley Johnson, 17 Simon McIntyre, 18 Marty Moore, 19 Matt Symons, 20 Alex Rieder, 21 Joe Simpson, 22 Brendan Macken, 23 Frank Halai

Exeter Chiefs: 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Olly Woodburn, 13 Ollie Devoto, 12 Sam Hill, 11 Ian Whitten, 10 Henry Slade, 9 Will Chudley, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Julian Salvi, 6 Don Armand (c), 5 Damian Welch, 4 Mitch Lees, 3 Harry Williams, 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie 1 Ben Moon
Replacements: 16 Jack Yeandle, 17 Alec Hepburn, 18 Greg Holmes, 19 Geoff Parling, 20 Dave Dennis, 21 Dave Lewis, 22 Gareth Steenson, 23 James Short

Date: Sunday, September 4
Venue: Ricoh Arena
Kick-off: 15:00 BST (14:00 GMT)
Referee: Tom Foley
Assistant Referees: Gareth Copsey, Jonathan Healy
TMO: Stuart Terhee