Golden Lions change 14 for Griquas

Date published: October 8 2015

Golden Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has made 14 changes to his starting line-up for Saturday's clash with Griquas in Johannesburg.

Ackermann has opted to rest most of his first-choice players ahead of next weekend's semi-finals, with loosehead prop Dylan Smith the only survivor from the run-on side that beat Western Province.

Scrum-half Ricky Schroeder leads the new-look Lions team while Jaco van der Walt lines up at fly-half. In midfield, Gerdus van der Walt and Jacques Nel take over from Howard Mnisi and Rohan Janse van Rensburg respectively while Vainon Willis starts at full-back alongside Mark Richards and Sampie Mastriet on the wings.

In the pack, Ruaan Lerm comes in at number eight while Fabian Booysen and Kwagga Smith start on the flanks.

Martin Muller and MB Lusaseni start in the second-row while Robbie Coetzee returns at hooker and Pieter Scholtz packs down at tighthead prop.

Golden Lions: 15 Vainon Willis, 14 Sampie Mastriet, 13 Jacques Nel, 12 Gerdus van der Walt, 11 Mark Richards, 10 Jaco van der Walt, 9 Ricky Schroeder (c), 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Fabian Booysen, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Martin Muller, 4 MB Lusaseni, 3 Pieter Scholtz, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Dylan Smith. 
Replacements: 16 Mark Pretorius, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Bobby de Wee, 19 Stephan de Witt, 20 Lohan Jacobs, 21 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 22 Salom Gavor.

Date: Saturday, October 10
Venue: Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 16:00 (14:00 GMT)
Referee: AJ Jacobs
Assistant referees: Ben Crouse, Francois Pretorius
TMO: Johan Greeff