Glos hand Welsh another thrashing

Date published: February 21 2015

Henry Purdy scored twice as Gloucester cruised to a bonus-point 48-10 success over winless London Welsh.

Gloucester took an impressive lead in the first half with tries for Ross Mariarty, Charlie Sharples and Matt Kvesic and two penalties for James Hook.

London Welsh managed to reply with just one successful penalty for Will Robinson meaning they went into half time losing 27-3.

The home side scored three further tries in the second half, two for Henry Purdy and the other for Sila Puafisi to secure the bonus point. The Exiles managed to score a try courtesy of Carl Kirwin but were still defeated 48-10.

Hook got the first points on the board with a penalty on four minutes but Robinson was quick to reply with his own three pointer and the scores were equal.

Gloucester pulled ahead with another penalty for Hook before their first try. After several breaks for the line, Mariarty finally managed to ground the ball for the opening try of the game. Sharples then darted away from the London Welsh defence and found the try line himself.

The floodgates now seemed to have opened and on 25 minutes, Kvesic also crashed over the line to put his side in the lead, 27-3 at the half-time whistle.

It was London Welsh who opened the scoring in the second half when Kirwin cut through the Gloucester defence from the line-out to smash over the line for the try.

However, Gloucester were quick to respond when Purdy went over for the bonus point try and he was then in for his second over 20 minutes later.

Puafisi's try game after the 80 had been played from the quick tap penalty, he simply shrugged off the visitor's defence to dive over the line and give his team the 48-10 victory.


The scorers:

For Gloucester
Tries: Moriarty, Sharples, Kvesic, Purdy 2, Puafisi
Cons: Hook 6
Pen: Hook

For London Welsh:
Try: Kirwan
Con: Robinson
Pen: Robinson
Yellow Card: Awcock

The teams:

Gloucester: 15 Billy Burns, 14 Charlie Sharples, 13 Henry Trinder, 12 Bill Meakes, 11 Henry Purdy, 10 James Hook, 9 Callum Braley, 8 Sione Kalamafoni, 7 Matt Kvesic, 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 James Hudson, 4 Tom Savage (c), 3 John Afoa, 2 Aleki Lutui, 1 Dan Murphy.
Replacements: 16 Darren Dawidiuk, 17 Yann Thomas, 18 Sila Puafisi, 19 Elliott Stooke, 20 Gareth Evans, 21 Dan Robson, 22 Mark Atkinson, 23 Jacob Rowan.

London Welsh: 15 Elliot Kear, 14 Seb Stegmann, 13 Nic Reynolds, 12 James Tincknell, 11 Alan Awcock, 10 Will Robinson, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Ben Pienaar, 7 Carl Kirwan (c), 6 Ben West, 5 James Down, 4 Dean Schofield, 3 Taione Vea, 2 Rob Elloway, 1 Eddie Aholelei.
Replacements: 16 Nathan Morris, 17 Nathan Trevett, 18 Jack Gilding, 19 Matt Corker, 20 Lachlan McCaffrey, 21 Rob Lewis, 22 Olly Barkley, 23 James Lewis.

Venue: Kingsholm
Referee: Ian Tempest
Assistant Referees: Nigel Carrick, Andrew Pearce
TMO: David Grashoff