Glasgow thump Racing

Date published: December 16 2016

A superb first-half performance helped Glasgow Warriors secure a 23-7 victory over Racing 92 in the Champions Cup at Scotstoun on Friday.

Glasgow started the game on the front foot with Josh Strauss and Fraser Brown both going over in the opening quarter of an hour. A conversion and two penalties from Finn Russell bumped the score up to 18-0 before half time. Ali Price picked up where Glasgow left off in the second half with an early score. 

Xavier Chauveau got Racing on the board with a late try but it did little to dampen the triumphant mood at Scotstoun. 

The inclusion of Strauss marked Glasgow's only change from last weeks impressive victory over Racing in Paris. Strauss went over within five minutes on his 100th appearance for Glasgow, Russell couldn't get enough bend on the conversion to leave the score at 5-0. 

Warriors continued to dominate the opening exchanges with Brown crashing through a number of Racing defenders for Glasgow's second try. After playing an integral part in the home sides early dominance, Russell got himself on the score sheet with the conversion. 

Racing where caught offside and Russell made it 15-0 with his penalty ricocheting off the post and in. Russell bagged another penalty on the stroke of half time to give Glasgow an 18-0 lead going into the break. 

Just like last weekend's encounter, Price wiggled through for a try early in the second half. Russell shanked his conversion attempt to keep the score at 23-0. 

Chauveau gave travelling fans something to shout about with a late try. Benjamin Dambielle slotted the conversion with the last kick of the match but it mattered little.

The scorers:

For Glasgow:
Strauss, Brown, Price
Con: Russell
Pens: Russell 2

For Racing:
Con: Dambielle

Glasgow Warriors: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Alex Dunbar , 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Lee Jones, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ali Price, 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Ryan Wilson, 6 Rob Harley, 5 Jonny Gray (c), 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Gordon Reid
Replacements: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 Alex Allan, 18 Sila Puafisi, 19 Brian Alainu’uese, 20 Chris Fusaro, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Mark Bennett, 23 Sean Lamon

Racing 92: 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Teddy Thomas, 13 Casey Laulala, 12 Anthony Tuitavke, 11 Marc Andreu, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Leone Nakarawa, 7 Chris Masoe, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Francois van der Merwe, 4 Gerbrandt Grobler, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Camille Chat, 1 Viliamu Afatia
Replacements: 16 Dimitri Szarzewski, 17 Eddy Ben Arous, 18 Cedate Gomes Sa, 19 Thibault Dubarry, 20 Antonie Claassen, 21 Xavier Chauveau, 22 Benjamin Dambielle, 23 Joe Rokocoko

Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Leo Colgan (Ireland), John Carvill (Ireland)
TMO: Olly Hodges (Ireland)