Glasgow sneak past Treviso

Date published: November 27 2015

Glasgow left it late as they came from behind to edge Treviso 13-6 at Scotstoun Stadium on Friday.

A great first-half showing from the Italians saw them take a three point lead into the break thanks to two penalties from Jayden Hayward against one from Glasgow's Finn Russell.

A tightly contested second-half saw the game's solitary try arrive through Adam Ashe, with replacement fly-half Duncan Weir kicking five points to seal a nervy win for Glasgow.

The Warriors went into the match having notched 15 straight wins against the Italian side. They looked to continue that streak when Russell kicked a penalty in the opening three minutes.

However, after a string of penalties inside the Glasgow half, Treviso levelled the scores through full-back Hayward.

Despite being rooted to the foot of the PRO12 table, Treviso looked threatening as they looked for a route through the Warriors line. This was then followed by a good spell of possession for Glasgow, but neither side was able to the scoreboard.

After a period of dominance in the forwards, Treviso won a kickable penalty that was converted by Hayward.

Treviso defended valiantly to hold onto their 6-3 lead going into half-time and the away side had the chance to increase their lead after half-time, but Hayward's second missed penalty of the game meant their lead stayed at three.

Gallant defence from the Italians then saw them hold off a barrage of Glasgow attack. But finally, after a series of scrums on the Treviso five metre line, the Warriors crossed the line through Ashe, with Weir adding the extras.

The Warriors pulled away in the final minutes with a penalty from Weir, giving the scoreline a slightly flattering look for the home team against a very plucky Treviso side.

The scorers:

For Glasgow:
Try: Ashe
Con: Weir
Pen: Russell, Weir

For Treviso:
Pen: Hayward 2

Glasgow Warriors: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Alex Dunbar, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Grayson Hart, 8 Adam Ashe, 7 Chris Fusaro, 6 Rob Harley, 5 Jonny Gray (c), 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Mike Cusack, 2 Shalva Mamukashvili, 1 Gordon Reid.
Replacements: 16 James Malcolm, 17 Ryan Grant, 18 Sila Puafisi, 19 Greg Peterson, 20 Josh Strauss, 21 Ali Price, 22 Duncan Weir, 23 Sam Johnson.

Treviso: 15 Luke McLean (c), 14 Andrea Pratichetti, 13 Tommaso Iannone, 12 Sam Christie, 11 Simone Ragusi, 10 Jayden Hayward, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Abraham Steyn, 7 Francesco Minto, 6 Marco Barbini, 5 Jeff Montauriol, 4 Teofilo Paulo, 3 Filippo Filippetto, 2 Ornel Gega, 1 Matteo Zanusso.
Replacements: 16 Luca Bigi, 17 Alberto De Marchi, 18 Salesi Manu, 19 Dean Budd, 20 Marco Lazzaroni, 21 Andrea De Marchi, 22 Edoardo Gori, 23 James Ambrosini.

Referee: David Wilkinson (IRFU)
Assistant Referees: Lloyd Linton, Graeme Wells (both SRU)