Glasgow name squad for Canada clash

Date published: August 25 2015

Glasgow Warriors boss Gregor Townsend has named a 28-man squad for Saturday’s historic pre-season fixture with Canada in Novia Scotia.

Scotland Sevens stalwart Scott Wight joins the travelling party and the former Glasgow player will be available to Townsend for the start of the season, with Gregor Hunter currently injured. 

Rory Hughes, Mike Cusack, Kevin Bryce and Josh Strauss all join the group after being released from the Scotland squad.

Hughes and Cusack both started Saturday’s win over Italy in Turin, while Bryce was named on the bench.

Strauss has been released with a view to getting game time before being considered for the final 31-man Scotland Rugby World Cup squad and will be available to the Warriors on Saturday and the following weekend when they play the Scarlets in the opening round of the PRO12.

Tim Swinson could make his return from injury in Canada, while Tyrone Holmes suffered concussion in training on Sunday and has been replaced by Will Bordill. Sam Johnson and Alex Allan both remain on the sidelines.

The Warriors team to play Canada in Halifax on Saturday will be announced on Friday.

Glasgow Warriors squad: 

Jason Hill, Josh Strauss, Will Bordill, Simone Favaro, Chris Fusaro, Scott Cummings, James Eddie, Kieran Low, Tim Swinson, Mike Cusack, Zander Fagerson, D’arcy Rae, Kevin Bryce, Pat MacArthur, George Hunter, Jerry Yanuyanutawa, Peter Murchie, Junior Bulumakau, Lee Jones, Rory Hughes, Mark Robertson, Glenn Bryce, Robbie Fergusson, Fraser Lyle, Rory Clegg, Scott Wight, Mike Blair, Grayson Hart.