Glasgow cruise against Racing

Date published: January 23 2016

Glasgow Warriors were big winners over a much-changed Racing 92 side, securing a 22-5 victory at Rugby Park in Kilmarnock.

Despite matching their opponents for tries, indiscipline from the visitors cost them dear, particularly in the second half.

As heavy rain fell, scoring chances and flowing attacking play did not come frequently, and the opening exchanges were suitably tight.

Finn Russell was handed an opportunity to put the hosts in front on seven minutes, and he duly added the three points.

Neither side could find a breakthrough for the remainder of the first half, and Russell's penalty goal would prove to be the only points of the opening 40.

There was a similar start to the second half, as indiscipline from Racing afforded Russell the chance to double Glasgow's lead.

The penalty attempt was on target, and less than ten minutes later Stuart Hogg found the space to dive over for the game's first try.

Russell's conversion made it 13-0 with 25 minutes of the game still to play.

Further indiscipline just after the hour cost Racing further, as Russell stepped up to put 16 points between the sides.

Racing eventually got off the mark four minutes later, when Cedate Gomes Sa managed to force his way over.

The conversion was missed, leaving the score at 16-5, but the cushion was extended to 14 points when substitute Duncan Weir kicked a penalty, and Weir added a second penalty in the last five minutes to bring the scoring to a close.

The scorers:

For Glasgow:
Try: Hogg
Con: Russell
Pens: Russell 3, Weir 2

For Racing 92:
Try: Khinchagishvili

Glasgow Warriors: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 13 Alex Dunbar, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ali Price, 8 Leone Nakarawa, 7 Simone Favaro, 6 James Eddie, 5 Jonny Gray (c), 4 Greg Peterson, 3 Sila Puafisi, 2 Salva Mamukashvili, 1 Alex Allan

Replacements: 16 James Malcolm, 17 Jerry Yanuyanutawa, 18 Zander Fagerson, 19 Scott Cummings, 20 Chris Fusaro, 21 Grayson Hart, 22 Duncan Weir, Lee Jones

Racing 92: 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Louis Dupichot, 13 Henry Chavancy, 12 Alexandre Dumoulin, 11 Marc Andreu, 10 Remi Tales, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Chris Masoe, 7 Bernard Le Roux, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Francois van der Merwe, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Luc Ducalcon, 2 Camille Chat, 1 Julien Brugnaut
Replacements: 16 Virgile Lacombe, 17 Davit Khinchagishvili, 18 Cedate Gomes Sa, 19 Thibault Dubarry, 20 Juandre Kruger, 21 Xavier Chauveau, 22 Etienne Dussartre, 23 Benjamin Dambielle

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant Referees: Luke Pearce (England), Peter Allan (England)
TMO: Trevor Fisher (England)