Glasgow battle past Leinster

Date published: March 18 2016

A depleted Glasgow leapfrog Edinburgh in the PRO12 after dispatching a spirited Leinster side 12-6 at Scotstoun.

The game had the physical intensity of a play-off match as both teams desperately fought for a much needed win.

A win would have taken Leinster to the top of the table but it was Glasgow’'s magnificent defence that saw them steal the win at Scotstoun.

Two penalties from Rory Clegg and Isa Nacewa provided the only points in the first half as both teams played tug of war for the games first try.

Two additional penalties from Clegg put Glasgow in the driving seat for the majority of the second half and despite a late push from the visitors the Scots came out victorious with a priceless 12-6 win.

It proved to be a vital win for the Scots as they crept closer to Munster on the table despite missing a number of key players.

It only took Leinster three minutes to get off the mark through a Nacewa penalty.

However back to back penalties from Clegg handed the lead to Glasgow as both teams tussled for supremacy.

Leinster continued to put pressure on the home side eventually creating a platform for Nacewa to level the scores again with a shot at the posts.

Ten minutes into the first half Clegg stole the lead back fro Glasgow with an easy three-pointer.

With 20 minutes remaining Clegg made it four from four from the kicking tee, opening up a six-point lead for the home side.

Both teams had a number of chances to steal the win as the game headed toward the 80 minute mark but it was Glasgow who picked up the vital points as they edged the match 12-6.

The scorers:

For Glasgow:
Pens: Clegg 4

For Leinster:
Pens: Nacewa 2

Glasgow Warriors: 15 Peter Murchie (c), 14 Lee Jones, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Rory Hughes, 10 Rory Clegg, 9 Grayson Hart, 8 Adam Ashe, 7 Simone Favaro, 6 James Eddie, 5 Leone Nakarawa, 4 Greg Peterson, 3 Sila Puafisi, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Gordon Reid
Replacements: 16 James Malcolm 17 Jerry Yanuyanutawa 18 Zander Fagerson 19 Scott Cummings 20 Tyrone Holmes 21 Ali Price 22 Nick Grigg 23 Glenn Bryce

Leinster: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Isa Nacewa (c) 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Ben Te’o, 11 Dave Kearney, 10 Cathal Marsh, 9 Luke McGrath, 8 Jordi Murphy, 7 Dan Leavy, 6 Dominic Ryan, 5 Hayden Triggs, 4 Mick Kearney, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 James Tracy, 1 Peter Dooley
Replacements: 16 Bryan Byrne, 17 Jeremy Loughman, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Ross Molony, 20 Peadar Timmins, 21 Isaac Boss, 22 Joey Carbery, 23 Noel Reid

Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Lloyd Linton (Scotland), Mike Adamson (Scotland)
TMO: Jim Yuille (Scotland)