Gill cited for foul play

Date published: March 14 2015

1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_Liam_Gill_Reds_training_Super_Rugby_2015

Reds flanker Liam Gill was cited for foul play after Saturday's Super Rugby match with the Brumbies in Brisbane.

Gill is alleged to have contravened 10.4 (j) Lifting Tackle, in an incident which occurred in the 47th minute of the clash which the Brumbies won 29-0 at the Suncorp Stadium.

The referee for the match, Andrew Lees, referred the incident to the television match official and issued a yellow card. Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play.

The citing is to be considered in the first instance by SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Robert Stelzner SC.

All SANZAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to a Duty Judicial Officer hearing to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the DJO.

COMMENTS