Geduld, Notshe to start for WP

Date published: September 18 2014

Utility back Justin Geduld and flanker Sikhumbuzo Notshe will make their first starts when WP host Griquas on Saturday.

Utility back Justin Geduld and back-row Sikhumbuzo Notshe will make their first Currie Cup starts for Western Province against Griquas at Newlands on Saturday.

Notshe will wear the number six jersey in the absence of injured colleague Siya Kolisi, whilst SA Sevens stalwart Geduld will start on the left-wing as part of the five changes to the WP team this week.

Kolisi (knees) and hooker Stephan Coetzee (ankle) both miss out after picking up injuries in last Saturday's 33-35 loss to the Golden Lions at Ellis Park, whilst fly-half Demetri Catrakilis, tighthead prop Brok Harris and hooker Scarra Ntubeni all move into starting roles – from the bench – this week.

Harris rotates again with squad vice-captain Pat Cilliers, who drops down to the bench where he will be joined by fellow prop – and Currie Cup debutant – Oliver Kebble, who is back to full fitness after picking up an ankle injury during Super Rugby.

WP coach Allister Coetzee told “We've made more changes than we would've liked, but injuries have forced our hand a bit this week.

“I'm very happy for Justin and Notshe who will be making their first Currie Cup starts after very useful contributions off the bench last week.

“We have every bit of confidence in their abilities and look forward to seeing how they adapt to starting roles.”

Western Province: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (c), 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Justin Geduld, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Oliver Kebble, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Manuel Carizza, 20 Rohan Kitshoff, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Kurt Coleman.

Date: Saturday, September 20
Kick-off: 15:00 local (14:00 BST, 13:00 GMT)
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Referee: Lesego Legoete
Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen, Marc van Zyl
TMO: Shaun Veldsman