Fuglistaller to skipper Rebels

Date published: July 10 2014

Rebels flanker Scott Fuglistaller has been named as captain for their final match of the Super Rugby season, against the Bulls.

Rebels flanker Scott Fuglistaller has been named as captain for their final match of the Super Rugby campaign, versus the Bulls in Pretoria on Friday.

Fuglistaller will lead the side for the first time, following Scott Higginbotham being handed a one-week suspension by SANZAR for receiving three yellow cards this season, with assistant coach Sean Hedger saying that Fuglistaller was the natural choice for the role at Loftus Versfeld.

“Scotty is one of those guys who is a natural leader,” Hedger explained on the Rebels website.

“Whether it be during the off-season, in off-field meetings or in game time, Scott leads by actions and words; when he speaks, all players stop and listen.”

In further honours, Colby Fainga'a and Toby Smith will both celebrate their 50th Super Rugby match in a game which will also see departing players Hugh Pyle, Jason Woodward and Alex Rokobaro feature in a Rebels squad for the last time.

The team named by Head Coach Tony McGahan features three forced personnel changes, as the Rebels look to equal their best ever season with a victory at Loftus Versfeld giving them a season tally of five wins.

A re-shuffle of the forward packs sees Wallaby Luke Jones move to the back of the scrum as blindside flanker and Fainga'a shift to number eight, with Cadeyrn Neville replacing Jones as the second lock.

Injuries to Tom Kingston (knee) and Bryce Hegarty (shoulder) see Jason Woodward and Telusa Veainu return to the backline as part of a re-shuffle, which sees young gun Jack Debreczeni move to flyhalf and Woodward replace him at full-back.

Rebels: 15 Jason Woodward, 14 Telusa Veainu, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Tom English, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Colby Fainga'a, 7 Scott Fuglistaller (capt), 6 Luke Jones, 5 Cadeyrn Neville, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16 Pat Leafa, 17 Cruze Ah-Nau, 18 Paul Alo-Emile, 19 Lopeti Timani, 20 Jordy Reid, 21 Nic Stirzaker, 22 Lalakai Foketi, 23 Alex Rokobaro.

Date: Friday, July 11
Venue: Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria
Kick-off: 19:10 local time (18:10 BST, 17:10 GMT)
Referee: Rohan Hoffman (Australia)
Assistant referees: Stuart Berry (South Africa), Sieg van Staden (South Africa)
Television match official: Johan Greeff (South Africa)